Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-22-2015, 10:41 PM   #1
mercman from oz

Default Being practical with old Fords?

My late Dad was a Builder by trade and his everyday car was a 1946 Ford Deluxe Fordor Sedan which my Grandfather bought brand new. Dad got the car in 1953 after my Grandfather was drowned. Being a Builder, he kept all his Tools etc in the Trunk. He loved the old 46 which proved very reliable transport and served Dad faithfully, however, he did have one complaint with it? Every time he had to open the Trunk in the rain, rain water would pour into his large Tool Box, which he quite often left in the car, only removing the actual tools required for the job. This was before all the Electric Tools. So Dad thought up a remedy. He bent some Aluminium Channel to the correct shape, cut off the lower portion of the Drip Rails and attached the Aluminium Channel by Screws. It may not have looked the best, but it served Dad well and prevented water running into the Trunk and rusting up his Tools. This was done in the late 1950's and would be a no-no these days. By the way, the old 46 Ford is still in the family, but is not in use these days. In fact, the last Registration Label on the Windscreen shows that it expired in 1966.
What have other Early Ford V8 Owners done with their cars to make them more practical? Lets hear from you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN8775.jpg (40.5 KB, 125 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN8776.jpg (39.7 KB, 143 views)
mercman from oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 10:47 PM   #2
green50

Default Re: Being practical with old Fords?

I like your dads thinking! A simple solution to his problem, done in a workman like manner.
Old 01-22-2015, 11:33 PM   #3
Old Henry