Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-27-2016, 07:34 AM   #1
Vince Putt

Default New to Board need info on 30 model A pickup conversion

Hi I'm new to the board Hope I'm not violating any rules here by posting my intro here. I'm a disabled Vet I have some problems with my vision and my mind acts faster than I can type so I have spelling errors and typos that I don't catch so cut me some slack. I'm not a complete idiot. My story begins back in 1964 when I was 6 years old my father took me to a place called Roadside American, http://roadsideamericainc.com/ It started me into a hobby with my older brother into model car building that I pursued all my life, and turning me into a motorhead. In early June a friend came to visit me from Texas and knowing he was a model train and model builder I took him to the place. To shorten my story The manager offered me a part time job. Dispite my mental and physical disabilities he gave me a chance to furfull a dream and work there part time. Yesterday I was asked to take a look at a large aircompressor that had not worked in years. I was taken to a old garage area and inside much to my amazement was a 30 Model A pickup. Upon closer examination something looked odd. it was a 5 window that was converted to a pickup. I was told it was done with kit that was offered along time ago. It looked as if you took a model A pickup rear panel and cutting and cold riveting to the C post of the 5 window body The bed looked like a standard ford truck bed of that era. the rear fenders looked like pickup and the only thing that looked out of place was the bottom panel where the pickup cab was mated to the 5 window body it was obviously different than a standard pickup cab because it matched the curvature of the the 5 window body and was curved forward.