Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-04-2016, 12:05 PM   #1
BenLeBlanc

Default Steering Worm Assessment Needed

Hello. I am trying to build my car on the cheap, and have made my way to the steering. I have it taken apart, and the Les Andrews book says "replace if worn". I am not experienced on steering worms, so take a look and tell me if you think it looks worn. Tell me if you need more photos.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 01-04-2016, 12:12 PM   #2
Mitch//pa
BANNED

Default Re: Steering Worm Assessment Needed

If u want to do the job right replace the sector and worm... Along with the bearings and sector bushing or needle bearing replacement.....
Doing a steering box is not cheap cheap
The worm looks pitted and worn
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 12:26 PM   #3
BenLeBlanc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch//pa View Post
If u want to do the job right replace the sector and worm... Along with the bearings and sector bushing or needle bearing replacement.....
Doing a steering box is not cheap cheap
The worm looks pitted and worn

I got what you are saying; just trying to get the project down the road, and if I don't have cash for other things, it isn't going to work.

However, I guess I see your point. Now is it suggested to just buy a whole new shaft with bearing surfaces, or can a machine shop handle pressing one off and on?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 01-04-2016, 12:37 PM   #4
Kevin in NJ

What are you going to use for a sector?

What does it look like if you are using a used sector?

What it comes down to is if you can put it all together and get a good adjustment. Worse thing is you find it does not adjust out and you need a better worm. They are not hard to take apart and you should have an idea what you have on the bench.