Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2020, 08:59 PM   #1
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 783
Default Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

I am not familiar with these speedo changers. I got this with some 42-48 Columbia parts. I have heard big trucks also used them but they operate
backwards? I imagine that it probably needs to be disassembled and lubed
and am wondering if and how to change it from truck to car style if possible?
Also are new bellows / diaphragms available?
Thanks
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 09:02 PM   #2
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 783
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Try again
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0CFC07A9-248C-4BF1-8149-9D4B24D88607.jpg (76.5 KB, 102 views)
File Type: jpeg B358DEF9-D3C4-4F19-982A-AFD11012DAE1.jpeg (117.7 KB, 94 views)
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-08-2020, 09:58 AM   #3
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,093
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

The truck ones used only 1 diaphram with spring return---same as truck 2 speed rear, the car columbia used 2 diaphrams, I think the whole innards have to be flipped over so it shifts between direct and turning the speedo faster
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 11:14 AM   #4
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 783
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Does this picture help identify this one
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 2AE07451-6924-4C97-9D65-E48AE2E2A32B.jpeg (109.4 KB, 32 views)
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 04:55 PM   #5
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,093
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

it's for truck -one vacuum diaphram, spring loaded return, most common on 42-47 big trucks--some had different ends or bushings in the end to adapt in later years, plus a little square drive connecter ----
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 08:18 PM   #6
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,594
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

I think the real issue will be the diaphragm . . . if it is shot (and it probably is), then you'll need to find some sort of replacement. This is the same issue with the dual-diaphragm Columbia units.

Hey - anybody know of a new/replacement that can be used in the dual-diaphragm Columbia setup? Inquiring minds need to know! LOL
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:15 AM   #7
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,093
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

The car changer has 2 diaphragms, the other are from big trucks, some are designed to fit only on the back of speedometer, others can go in between sections of cables

I have reground pliers jaws to open the crimps and replace diaphragm, sometimes re riveting the operating shaft, sometimes drilling and tapping for nut or small screw
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2281.jpg (31.6 KB, 67 views)
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:23 AM   #8
RobR'35
Senior Member
 
RobR'35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Posts: 561
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

That's pretty cool. I've never heard of anyone tearing into the diaphragms and make repairs.
By chance do u have any photos?
RobR'35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:49 AM   #9
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 783
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt in NJ View Post
The car changer has 2 diaphragms, the other are from big trucks, some are designed to fit only on the back of speedometer, others can go in between sections of cables

I have reground pliers jaws to open the crimps and replace diaphragm, sometimes re riveting the operating shaft, sometimes drilling and tapping for nut or small screw


That's good info. I have heard in the past that you can use the big truck unit by flipping the gears? Is that true?
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 11:02 AM   #10
deuce_roadster
Senior Member
 
deuce_roadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Shelton, WA
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Yes, Gary Duff switched the truck ones for my 2 Columbia units for my 40s. Mine don't have any diaphragm. I believe he takes the gears off their shafts and switches them. You might talk to him.
There is a picture of the Columbia controls in my 40 coupe album.
deuce_roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 02:01 PM   #11
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 783
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by deuce_roadster View Post
Yes, Gary Duff switched the truck ones for my 2 Columbia units for my 40s. Mine don't have any diaphragm. I believe he takes the gears off their shafts and switches them. You might talk to him.
There is a picture of the Columbia controls in my 40 coupe album.

Thanks Mike, My neighbor has a survivor 40 deluxe coupe with everything stock and his doesn't work so we are trying to figure these out.
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 02:48 PM   #12
RobR'35
Senior Member
 
RobR'35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Posts: 561
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Found this in some of my records.
Maybe it'll help.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
RobR'35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 05:03 PM   #13
motordr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Beamsville,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 365
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Hey - anybody know of a new/replacement that can be used in the dual-diaphragm Columbia setup? Inquiring minds need to know! LOL

Sure, get some NOS choke diaphragms and modify them to fit, that is what I did and works like a charm.
motordr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 10:28 PM   #14
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,594
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by motordr View Post
Hey - anybody know of a new/replacement that can be used in the dual-diaphragm Columbia setup? Inquiring minds need to know! LOL

Sure, get some NOS choke diaphragms and modify them to fit, that is what I did and works like a charm.
Would you happen to know what year car and/or type of carb? That is a great idea - never thought of it - thanks! Any help you can give to point me in the right direction, just getting ready to rebuild a Columbia for my 32.
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 07:53 AM   #15
motordr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Beamsville,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 365
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Any early seventies GM Rochester 2-barrel diaphragm would work, will see if I can find the part number for you. Requires some cutting, bending and mig welding to keep heat from damaging the diaphragm.
motordr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 12:12 PM   #16
motordr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Beamsville,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 365
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

The choke pull-off I used is an aftermarket product CP452 by Avatar AIP Company. Listed applications: chev 1975-73 R1 250 engine, so the six cylinders. I would think that others would be adaptable too, just try to get two the same.
motordr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 02:25 PM   #17
G.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida and Penna.
Posts: 4,322
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt in NJ View Post
it's for truck -one vacuum diaphram, spring loaded return, most common on 42-47 big trucks--some had different ends or bushings in the end to adapt in later years, plus a little square drive connecter ----
You are on the right path. I used 3 or 4 of these but it was 40 years ago.
I remember machining an adaptor and I think it was mounted backwards.
Can't remember any more. G.M.
__________________
www.fordcollector.com
G.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 07:31 PM   #18
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,594
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by motordr View Post
The choke pull-off I used is an aftermarket product CP452 by Avatar AIP Company. Listed applications: chev 1975-73 R1 250 engine, so the six cylinders. I would think that others would be adaptable too, just try to get two the same.
Thanks a bunch - that is exactly what I'll pickup - or something similar. Again, great idea to solve the problem.
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 01:36 PM   #19
Ggmac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lake worth Florida
Posts: 525
Default Re: Speedo changer for Columbia 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bored&Stroked View Post
I think the real issue will be the diaphragm . . . if it is shot (and it probably is), then you'll need to find some sort of replacement. This is the same issue with the dual-diaphragm Columbia units.

Hey - anybody know of a new/replacement that can be used in the dual-diaphragm Columbia setup? Inquiring minds need to know! LOL
I was just cleaning out my 40' container of old car parts and found a possible diaphragm. I've never had a Columbia or know anything about the diaphragm part but after looking at the picture , this may work . Do you have the dia and aprx travel . The parts I've put aside are from 1970-80s air cleaners on carbureted engines . It's the vacuum control on the air cleaner that controls the flapper in the inlet .
Hope it helps .
Ggmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.