Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2019, 03:02 PM   #1
Nlbloch
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Default Installing motometer

Looking for proper guidance to install new motometer so that I donít mess up the radiator collar nor the new motometer. Do I need to loosen the Allen nuts so that it turns easily, or is there some other trick to this?
Nlbloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 04:07 PM   #2
bucket-o-rust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: visalia calif
Posts: 176
Default Re: Installing motometer

If you have ever tried to remove one that has been installed on a car that has sat in storage for many years you would not put one on your car. They get corroded and will not unscrew so you can take them apart. If they will not unscrew you will damage your radiator neck getting the thing off. If you have an old radiator it is OK but I would not use it on a new radiator. If you just have to have one use lots of anti seize on the threeds.
bucket-o-rust is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-05-2019, 05:22 PM   #3
midgetracer
Senior Member
 
midgetracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bismarck ND
Posts: 940
Default Re: Installing motometer

You must be talking about 28-29 radiators.
midgetracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:47 AM   #4
marty in Ohio
Senior Member
 
marty in Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 581
Default Re: Installing motometer

Nlbloch,
To answer your question, yes, loosen the allen bolts and position the motometer in place. Before you tighten the bolts aim the meter so that you can see the thermometer from your driver's seat. I've had one on my '30 town sedan since I got it 26 years ago. It doesn't really tell me the temperature, but tells me when it's getting hot.
Marty
marty in Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 07:34 AM   #5
1928Mik
Senior Member
 
1928Mik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Zanesville Ohio USA
Posts: 169
Default Re: Installing motometer

Exactly what Marty says. I keep an eye on mine as well, good indicator when it's getting too hot.
__________________
1928 Niagara Blue Phaeton
1972 Olds 442 Convertible
1928Mik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 09:21 AM   #6
BILL WILLIAMSON
Senior Member
 
BILL WILLIAMSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: FRESNO, CA
Posts: 12,558
Default Re: Installing motometer

After a long run, if the Moto-Meter cycles up & down regularly, YOU ARE LOW ON WATER!!!
Bill Cool
__________________
"THE ASSISTANT GURU OF STUFF"
BILL WILLIAMSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 07:22 AM   #7
chap52
Senior Member
 
chap52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marana Arizona
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Installing motometer

My motometer lets me know when the engine is getting overheated. The thought of running it with the thermometer in the "run temp circle" is not my cars reality zone. But when the "red" shows up on the bottom of the thermometer I just "slow my roll" and let it subside.
I ended up installing a temp gauge because the I was new to "A's" and running the motometer in the "running temp circle" caused a bit of windshield washing with the 50/50 mix from the radiator. So the motometer is a "heads-up" tool, and looks cool. Chap
chap52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 05:04 PM   #8
whirnot
Senior Member
 
whirnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bend Or.
Posts: 963
Wink Re: Installing motometer

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket-o-rust View Post
If you have ever tried to remove one that has been installed on a car that has sat in storage for many years you would not put one on your car. They get corroded and will not unscrew so you can take them apart.
Mines been on there for over 30 years. No problem getting it off when I put a new radiator in last year.
I put a little Teflon tape on the threads to seal and protect.
__________________
Bill Worden

1929 Roadster
1929 Briggs Town Sedan
1930 Closed Cab pickup
1951 Ford F1

High Desert Model A's
whirnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:38 PM   #9
BILL WILLIAMSON
Senior Member
 
BILL WILLIAMSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: FRESNO, CA
Posts: 12,558
Default Re: Installing motometer

If the red stripe separates, partially cover the radiator & the lower stripe will connect to the upper stripe.
I've seen IDIOTS twirl the Moto-Meter on a rope, to make the stripes connect properly!!!!Bill Smarterthanthat
__________________
"THE ASSISTANT GURU OF STUFF"
BILL WILLIAMSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 09:37 AM   #10
Nlbloch
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Default Re: Installing motometer

Thanks to everyone for your updates and insights. Much appreciated.
Nlbloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 04:27 PM   #11
F.M.
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 385
Default Re: Installing motometer

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILL WILLIAMSON View Post
If the red stripe separates, partially cover the radiator & the lower stripe will connect to the upper stripe.
I've seen IDIOTS twirl the Moto-Meter on a rope, to make the stripes connect properly!!!!Bill Smarterthanthat
Look in a mirror, It works..
F.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.