Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-20-2019, 07:15 AM   #1
Fordguy1964

Default New Member New car

I picked up a 41 Ford Deluxe Sedan over the last weekend. Of course it has been redone a few times by people with less than great skills. So I will be needing to repair some things that they have done. It looks great at about 20 feet but get close and you start to see the problems.

Since I am new to this (cars this old) what should I be on the lookout for on this model? I am very mechanical and have done MANY frame off restorations/restomods. I do all work myself from body, chassis, paint, engine, you name it. Here are pictures of my new toy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0816191522a_resized.jpg (40.1 KB, 162 views)
File Type: jpg 0816191522_resized.jpg (48.8 KB, 177 views)
Fordguy1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 07:25 AM   #2
Fordguy1964

Default Re: New Member New car

I tried to post more pictures but for some reason it's not letting me. Could be due to new member restrictions?
Old 08-20-2019, 08:15 AM   #3
Seth Swoboda

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordguy1964 View Post
I tried to post more pictures but for some reason it's not letting me. Could be due to new member restrictions?
No. There aren't any restriction on how many photos you can post. Maybe if you try to resize them.

The flathead engine will be the most crucial component and likely require the most attention of your new car.

Make sure the ignition system is operating at 100%. Coils can be rebuilt by Skip Haney. The distributor will benefit from being set up and timed on a Sun distributor tester. The fuel pump will likely benefit from an ethanol resistant diaphragm and your carburetor at some point will need an ethanol resistant rebuild kit from Daytona Products.