Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-13-2019, 09:18 PM   #1
pastangnut

Default Model A, body to subframe, to frame

Hi everyone, getting ready to purchase a running 1930 chassis with no body. I'm completely new to Model A's and would like to know how the body is attached to the subframe assy, and then how does the body/frame assy mount to the frame? I saw online where wooden blocks are used. I found some bodies for sale online, and most look like they need extensive work. In the past, I've restored older Mustangs, and currently, a 68 Bronco, but these old cars are new to me.
Thanks, Ivan
pastangnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 12:19 AM   #2
Steve Plucker
BANNED

Default Re: Model A, body to subframe, to frame

Ivan,

Different Model A Bodies mounted perty much the same except for some exceptions.

Your best bet is to get the Model A Ford Restoration Guidelines and Judging Standards...This wil help you understand the whole process of assembling the body to the frame.

Pluck
Steve Plucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 09:28 AM   #3
Kurt in NJ

some bodys have wood framing and subframe, the tin is nailed on --fordors, cabriolet etc
tudors, coupes, roadsters have steel subframes,most body structure and the wood is mostly to nail the interior to
metal subframe bodys have wood blocks between the subframe and frame in most cases
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 10:07 AM   #4
1931 flamingo

Get some vendor catalogs and the Red Book and start turning pages.
Read old posts on this site, very informative.
Paul in CT
MAKE SURE ENGINE NUMBER AND FRAME NUMBER MATCH BEFORE PURCHASE
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 03:25 PM   #5
Tinbasher