Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2019, 01:00 AM   #41
Chris Haynes
Senior Member
 
Chris Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Hills, CA and Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 2,405
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drive Shaft Dave View Post
I have heard that the rex aco temp gauge has been problematic in the last few years .
I bought mine a little over a year ago and it works fine.
__________________
1921 Runabout
1930 Tudor
Early 1930 AA
Speed costs money. How fast do you want to go?
Chris Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 01:20 AM   #42
Magicbox51
Senior Member
 
Magicbox51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 625
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I bought an Apco and used a new outlet with the hole in the side for the probe. It works great, BUT, the under the speedo bracket really sucks. Really hard to deal with the e-brake lever. Not only that, but the #**&!# repro chrome bezel that doesn't fit all that great to begin with is nearly impossible to get the gauge bracket screwed on. Grrr.

Anyone know of a reasonably inexpensive single gauge steering column mount? Mine is a '29.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Magicbox51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-08-2019, 05:04 AM   #43
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,765
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magicbox51 View Post
I bought an Apco and used a new outlet with the hole in the side for the probe. It works great, BUT, the under the speedo bracket really sucks. Really hard to deal with the e-brake lever. Not only that, but the #**&!# repro chrome bezel that doesn't fit all that great to begin with is nearly impossible to get the gauge bracket screwed on. Grrr.

Anyone know of a reasonably inexpensive single gauge steering column mount? Mine is a '29.
I make one for RHD but you might fabricate one for yourself. When I do that, I cut off the top half of the clamp from under the tank, clamp it to the steering column and make a support to fill in the gap. With a few tools, it's not that difficult - it can't be - I do it!
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.

Last edited by Synchro909; 01-08-2019 at 11:18 PM.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 04:06 PM   #44
ghalperin
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
I make one for RHD but you might fabricate one for yourself. When I do that, I cut off the top half of the clamp from under the tank, clamp it to the steering column and make a support to fill in the gap. With a few tools, it's not that difficult - it can't be - I do it!
Can you please post a photo or two?
ghalperin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 06:51 PM   #45
father-son
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I believe Mark Maron recommends the Vintage Precision tstat and temp gauge. It's a little pricey and I have not decided yet. Not real excited about the temp gauge in the rad hose.

http://www.vintageprecision.com/products/thermostat
father-son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 07:07 PM   #46
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,642
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I installed a metal probe pipe in the upper radiator hose that I got from Snyders to connect the probe . This setup works good for me and isn't that noticeable .

Last edited by Purdy Swoft; 02-23-2020 at 07:17 PM.
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:21 PM   #47
DBrer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Spokane Valley Wa.
Posts: 111
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

just finished installing a temp gauge yesterday, but before I hooked it up I tested it in a pot on the stove and it worked just fine. it is an APCO gauge.
DBrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:43 PM   #48
PalAl
Senior Member
 
PalAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Orangeville Illinois
Posts: 186
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

James A... One more option that's out there
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 29 Engine resized.jpg (64.9 KB, 53 views)
PalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.