Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-21-2020, 05:57 AM   #1
shew01

Default What are some of the counter intuitive things you have learned about a Model A?

This post may be helpful to folks that are new to Model A’s.

What are some of the counter intuitive things (and their fixes) you have learned about a Model A? For me, here are some of the things that I didn’t expect and cost me time figuring them out. I’m still fairly new to Model A’s. Please correct me if I get any of the following wrong.

1) If you have the distributor cap off and the metal linkage rod disconnected, you can accidentally rotate the upper distributor plate so far that it may pop up (without your noticing it) out of its groove and disconnect itself (electrically) so that you will not get 6 volts on the moving point arm when you test for proper voltage.

2) The metal linkage rods that connect the steering column spark lever (on the left side of the steering wheel) and throttle lever (on the right side of the steering wheel) to the distributor and carburetor have ends on them that fit over linkage balls. The linkage rod ends are spring loaded and “stretch” so that you can remove the rods from the balls.

3) I still don’t understand how a metal inner tube valve stem is installed. The tubes appear to ship from the manufacturer with rubberized valve stems.