Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-12-2016, 01:05 PM   #1
tiger.1000

Default Snap On versus Craftsman

Two sets of spanners (UK).....Snap On here in the UK cost £2000 ! Not dollars !

Craftsman 1/50th of the price

Gentleman, your comments please !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg snap on.jpg (134.7 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg craftsman 1.jpg (11.0 KB, 60 views)
tiger.1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 01:12 PM   #2
Joe Immler

Default Re: Snap On versus Craftsman

I am not a professional mechanic but for a do it yourselfer I think both are equal. Wouldn't hesitate to buy Craftsman.
Joe Immler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 01:14 PM   #3
40cpe

If you are a professional mechanic and can charge/get $100/hr, maybe the Snap On could be justified. Mid-line tools fit my needs just fine and I don't need the ego trip of owning Snap On. Craftsman used to be recognized as a quality brand of tools. Things change, so I don't know about today's Craftsman tools.
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 01:18 PM   #4
flathead4rd

Snap On is nice and top of the line but pricey. Most all of my tools are Craftsman and have had them for many years. I don't now if the newer Craftsman's are of the same quality but I think you would be happy with either one.
flathead4rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 01:19 PM   #5
David J

Seems Snap-On prices are steep across the pond .

I have mostly Snap-On tools and a Snap-On rep { truck } lives 5 miles away so warranty needs are quick . He gives a healthy cash in hand discount .

I have some Craftsman stuff also and it isn't bad but it is for sure not the same quality .

At the prices you mention I would probably go with Craftsman on most but NOT my 6 point sockets .
David J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 01:24 PM   #6
cobbie