Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2020, 12:05 PM   #1
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Has anyone installed New Vintage USA Woodward Series gauges?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 37205-02 gauges.jpg (167.4 KB, 137 views)
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 03:03 AM   #2
fortyonerag
Senior Member
 
fortyonerag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 414
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Probably not much help to you, but I just installed NVU Oil Press and Temp accessory gauges in my 41. I had an issue with the temp sensor and NVU have agreed to send me a new one to Australia - no hassles.

I was pretty pleased with their attitude.
fortyonerag is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-22-2020, 05:09 AM   #3
Zeke5180
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 33
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

I'm currently installing the Woodward Series in my 37. Almost identical to yours. Maybe I can help.
Zeke
Zeke5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:47 AM   #4
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeke5180 View Post
I'm currently installing the Woodward Series in my 37. Almost identical to yours. Maybe I can help.
Zeke
Thanks, I'd sure like to know if you have any problems. I'll be doing this in a couple weeks.
Jim
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:46 PM   #5
Zeke5180
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 33
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Jim,

One problem I did come across was the fuel gauge. Always read full. I was able to determine the fuel sending unit I had in the tank would only work with the original Ford gauge. When I first purchased the car several years ago I had to replace the fuel tank, the sending unit and an electric fuel pump. All were trashed from sitting for a number of years. At that time the car was still 6v positive but the sending unit was good for 6 or 12 volts. Also make sure your grounds are good.
This is a first time for me so I'm no electrical wizard but if I can help any further let me know.
Zeke
Zeke5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 11:48 AM   #6
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Zeke,
Thanks for that, the only original gauge that works is my fuel gauge! I expect to receive the set around the first of Dec.
Jim
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 11:52 AM   #7
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

do those gauges fit the factory holes in the '37-'39 dash?
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 07:24 PM   #8
Zeke5180
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 33
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

40 Coupe,

They did for the 37, I believe they're 4 3/8" .

Zeke
Zeke5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:16 PM   #9
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Thanks
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 04:48 PM   #10
Ggmac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lake worth Florida
Posts: 762
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

All senders will have to be replaced including fuel . Change to 12 volts and possibly your original distributor . I say dist only if the odometer is of the gps style , the noise from generator and maybe the dist will interfere. I installed a set for a friend , and now going back through it , we did have a 12 v generator that was probably the noise interfering with the gps antenna/ signal .
Ggmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 07:14 PM   #11
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Zeke5180
What kind of speed sender are you using?



Jim
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 03:24 PM   #12
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

It's crazy, but the sender that fits my 39 transmission is the one that is for GM products, 99001-04, and the one listed for Ford products, 99006-04 won't fit the 39 ford. This according to NVU cust svc.?!
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 04:31 PM   #13
JayChicago
Senior Member
 
JayChicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 286
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

The one for Ford products is probably for modern Ford products. I would trust the NVU techs. I dealt with them to troubleshoot a problem with the Woodward set that came in my '37. Turned out they were right, I was wrong.
JayChicago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 09:29 PM   #14
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayChicago View Post
The one for Ford products is probably for modern Ford products. I would trust the NVU techs. I dealt with them to troubleshoot a problem with the Woodward set that came in my '37. Turned out they were right, I was wrong.

As it turns out, that's the case, but when I first contacted them they gave me the number for the ford sender. In looking at the picture, I couldn't see how it could connect with my trans. So I sent them a picture of the speedo drive gear assy and asked how to connect the ford sender. That's when they replied that I needed the GM sender. So I have that one on order now..
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 06:15 PM   #15
Zeke5180
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 33
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Flathead 39,
Sorry for the late reply. I'm using the the Ford unit, 99006-04. In my case I unscrewed the unit and basically used the front half which screwed directly in my stock 37 trans. If I can figure out how to post a photo, I'll show you the part I removed.

Zeke
Zeke5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 08:23 PM   #16
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Thanks Zeke, looks like either one will work. I'll know more when I get the GM 99001-04.
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 11:58 PM   #17
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Installation complete. All gauges working. I think I may have a linear vs non-linear problem in the gas gauge/sender but it's working. btw, the gas tank sender is the only one I didn't replace.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20201229_082731188.jpg (260.8 KB, 67 views)
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 09:42 AM   #18
JayChicago
Senior Member
 
JayChicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 286
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Looks great!
JayChicago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 10:53 AM   #19
Zeke3
Senior Member
 
Zeke3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 738
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Very nice looking gauges.
Zeke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 11:31 AM   #20
flathead 39
Member
 
flathead 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Azalea, Oregon
Posts: 99
Default Re: New Gauges for 39 Deluxe

Thanks guys, I'll never argue that they are as good looking as the original. However I needed to git rid of the under dash gauges and replace them with not bad looking gauges that are reliable. Not to mention the extras you get with electronics. Here's the before shot. I'm satisfied with the results.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before.jpg (173.0 KB, 36 views)
flathead 39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.