Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-09-2016, 12:36 PM   #1
Shortdog

Default Help Water Pump.

IMG_0220[2].jpg

IMG_0235[1].jpgI haven't own this car long and I notice there was too much end play in the water pump. About 1/2 inch. The fan will not go all the way on the shalt. I have some knowledge in mechanics so I know this isn't right.

Question? Do I have the right water pump and wrong fan or the right fan and wrong water pump.

Wisdom is not a product of schooling, but of a lifelong attempt to acquire it.
Shortdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:10 PM   #2
Bob C

Default Re: Help Water Pump.

The water pump has to be bolted to the head to check the end play as the shaft
movement is limited by part of the casting in the head. This casting wears and
the end of the shaft can be built up, a longer shaft installed or a collar installed
on the shaft to limit its movement.

Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:11 PM   #3
Farrell In Vancouver

Fan and pump look compatible but the rear of the pump shaft is short allowing end play excess. Try changing the shaft or build in up with weld so do reduce the end play. I think it should only be .006. Check the head and see how much the thrust block in the pump housing is worn.
Farrell In Vancouver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:25 PM   #4
Shortdog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob C View Post
The water pump has to be bolted to the head to check the end play as the shaft
movement is limited by part of the casting in the head. This casting wears and
the end of the shaft can be built up, a longer shaft installed or a collar installed
on the shaft to limit its movement.

Bob
The water pump was bolted to the head when I checked it. The fan will not go on the shalt enough to put a carter key in. Johnny

Old 09-09-2016, 01:31 PM   #5
Marshall V. Daut