Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-14-2019, 12:28 PM   #1
gmcole

Default 1950 f1

Howdy! I am new to Ford Barn having just acquired a 1950 Ford F1. My immediate goals are to just get her to run as my dad drove the truck into the barn and parked it several years ago. I recently replaced the rusted fuel tank and put on a new fuel pump but am not having any luck getting fuel into the carburetor. I am not a mechanic but can follow rules pretty well.

Any recommendations for how to test the pump? I only put about 1.5 gallons in to avoid having to drain tank if required. Not sure if it needs more than that or not.

Thanks for the help and can’t wait to learn more and get the truck fired up.
gmcole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 05:23 PM   #2
cmbrucew

Default Re: 1950 f1

Disconnect the flexible line to the fuel pump and pressurize the fuel tank slightly.
Bruce
Old 08-14-2019, 05:31 PM   #3
rotorwrench

Post 2 will make sure your fuel line isn't clogged. It's hard to rig up a pressure gauge unless you have the proper fittings to connect up to the fuel line from the pump to the carburetor. It won't put out much pressure so you need a gauge that will read 10 psi or so with at least 2 psi increments. They don't put out more the 2 or 3 psi. The fuel tank venting needs to be functional. No venting, no draw. That little flex line mentioned by Bruce can get holes or cracks so the pump will just suck air. The line fittings have to be secure too or they can leak air back in.

Welcome to the barn. There are a lot of F1 folks here.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 06:01 PM   #4
alanwoodieman

how about an update on your location, maybe a "barner" is close by who could help you out. we need new blood in the old truck/car hobby especially flatheads!! so help him get started
alanwoodieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 07:13 PM   #5