Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-23-2013, 06:36 PM   #1
Mark from Indy

Default Accelerator issue - alignment with floorboard

I'm fairly new at Model A's , mine being my first. I made new floorboards for it and the top hole for the accelerator rod didn't line up to the specs. The previous owner/restorer I noticed solved that issue by just whittling out the hole bigger. However as one of my goals was to have less hillbilly airconditioning, I wanted to see why it didn't align. I notice I can push the rod by the firewall over toward the passenger side and it aligns. As it is now the lower bend of the rod actually hits one of the bell housing bolt heads, until I move it over. I looked at the assembly itself and see the "stop" on the rod on the drivers side I can push it too, but nothing evident to actually pin it there. It has to rotate so I suspect something like that on the two posts as it were they rod goes through. Its not evident that there are screws or pins although there are holes in the top of the two "posts". I will attach some pics to show the drivers side that I see and the rod from inside the cab. Can anyone help as to what may be missing, unscrewed, or broken here? It looks to be a real beyatch to get to to take it out if that's what's needed. Thanks for answering a newbie question!

Like the one poster said - another Mushroom job for me

Mark
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cab View Accel.JPG (125.9 KB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg Drivers Side Accel.JPG (93.3 KB, 94 views)
Mark from Indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
Aok

Default Re: Accelerator issue - alignment with floorboard

The holes on top are for oil. There should be a spring on the passenger side
Aok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:40 PM   #3
Mark from Indy

Yes - there is a spring, and is what is helping to push the assembly toward the drivers side.