Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model T (1909-1927)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-10-2014, 10:26 PM   #1
P.S.

Default Looking for Model T for wife. Prices seem a lot higher than expected. Why?

Wife and I have a stock Model A that we restored (mechanically and cosmetically) ourselves and we drive all over the place. It has been a VERY useful car, not just a "toy".

Wife really wants a Model T for use as a 'farmer's market' car. I thought, hey why not?! If the wife is showing that kind of interest in old cars, it is certainly my job to help her out, right?

So, I have been shopping Model T's in Hemmings and elsewhere for the last 4-5 months. Was always under the impression that a Model T was going to be a lot more affordable. However, for a car or pickup that is running and decently driveable, pricing seems on par with a Model A. Is there ever a time, like an 'off season', when T prices drop?
P.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 10:46 PM   #2
redmodelt

Default Re: Looking for Model T for wife. Prices seem a lot higher than expected. Why?

Look on ebay or Craigs list. Remember that a lot of times if they are for sale in some venues the price will be higher then market. In any case you should be able to get into a Huckster type T for under $10,000 which in most cases for a nice A would still be less. Look for Depot Hack or Huckster. If you look on ebay after you set your search parameters you can do an advance search and see what has sold or not sold and at what kind of price.
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 10:46 PM   #3
bart78

Default Re: Looking for Model T for wife. Prices seem a lot higher than expected. Why?

Look for a older restoration. And some of it might be location.
bart78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 11:49 PM   #4
P.S.

Thanks, guys.

Yea, for the prices I'm seeing (for the level of T we are seeking), looks like a Model A would be less costly.