Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-09-2023, 02:51 PM   #1
Waorani

Default Thoughts on new camshaft?

The cam lobes in my '31 are pitted and I need to replace. I can find reground cams but the idea of a new cam is appealing. Snyder's/etc list new cams and I'm on waiting lists but they haven't been in stock for at least a couple of years now. I notice the new Burtz cam is available but I'm new to Model As so wondering what the thoughts are on using one of those?
Waorani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 03:26 PM   #2
Pete

Default Re: Thoughts on new camshaft?

Depending on how bad the pitting is and the journal wear, you might be able to just have yours reground.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 03:39 PM   #3
jgriffin

I am new as well but can someone explain a "reground camshaft"? I am assuming to get proper lift that there has to be some welding or adding of material, then it gets ground down to desired specifications...
jgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 04:10 PM   #4
Y-Blockhead

Jim Brierley (on Ford Barn) sells cams.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 04:26 PM   #5
Big hammer

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgriffin View Post
I am new as well but can someone explain a "reground camshaft"? I am assuming to get proper lift that there has to be some welding or adding of material, then it gets ground down to desired specifications...
The cam can be ground to give original lift, basically they grind the base circle and the lobe so the total lift can stay the same
Old 05-09-2023, 04:59 PM   #6
Werner

The overall diameter is a few hundredths smaller, but the control times and angles remain the same.

Ford Model A, Roadster, 1928
Citroen 11 CV, 1947
Hercules W 2000, 1976; (with NSU-Wankel Rotary Engine), Canadian version
Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 06:23 PM   #7
Waorani