Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-17-2023, 10:04 AM   #1
David in San Antonio

Default The Case of the Wretched Roadster

Any suggestions?
My Deluxe Roadster, last restored in 1957-59 ran great when I first acquired it in mid-summer 2022.
Symptoms: Recently it has to crank a long time before catching, runs rough, almost like one cylinder inconsistently cuts out, stumbles at more than about ⅓ throttle, stalls if left to idle and will not restart. The next day it starts again.
Smooths out when starter spray into carb.
I have zero experience working on Model A’s so proceeded under the close supervision of fellow Alamo A members and many packages from Snyder’s.
Equipment: 6 volt positive ground, generator, installed then removed Air Maze air filter, no oil filter, original style distributor.
So far:
Carburetor: Thoroughly cleaned and rebuilt the Zenith carb. No improvement. Switched to a rebuilt Tillotson which ran fine on another A. No improvement. Adjusted GAV once warmed up and running above idle to best result. Still running rough.
Adjusted idle mixture screw on carb while idling to best effect. Still running rough.

Ignition: New 6 volt Optima battery, new ground cable to frame which I wire wheeled until shiny. New correct gauge cable to starter.
Cleaned and rebuilt the distributor with longer lower plate pigtail, new condenser mounted next to the coil on the firewall. New (old style) points, new distributor cam, gapped points, observed hot spark through temporary clear distributor cap. Re-confirmed spark to all cylinders with screw driver from each plug to near the head while running. Nice bright spark and clear crackle sound.
Cleaned and gapped spark plugs. New high tension leads from distributor to plugs. New high tension lead from coil to distributor.

Compression: 60-80-80-80