Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2016, 02:51 PM   #1
1929
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 899
Default Tachometer?

Should the Model A RPM stay under 3000?
1929 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 03:38 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: Tachometer?

I think so and I like to limit mine to 2000.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-24-2016, 03:41 PM   #3
tbirdtbird
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: inside your RAM
Posts: 3,134
Default Re: Tachometer?

these are long-stroke, low-revving motors with boatloads of torque down low, you don't need to rev the nuts off it
__________________
'31 180A
tbirdtbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 04:14 PM   #4
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdtbird View Post
these are long-stroke, low-revving motors with boatloads of torque down low, you don't need to rev the nuts off it
I like that
Good explanation ...
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 04:32 PM   #5
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,473
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Tachometer?

45 mph is about 2400 rpm.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 06:01 PM   #6
old31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Tachometer?

What do you guys use for a tach, and how do you hook them up
old31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 06:35 PM   #7
TerryH
Senior Member
 
TerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fountain Valley, Calif.
Posts: 803
Default Re: Tachometer?

Why do you need a tach on a Model A? Like everyone says, they are a low rpm engine. I cannot imagine why a tach would be useful or necessary in normal operation.
TerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 06:44 PM   #8
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by old31 View Post
What do you guys use for a tach, and how do you hook them up
My ears...no wiring necessary
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 06:52 PM   #9
nick c
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 246
Default Re: Tachometer?

I bought a Bosch from Jegs, FST7906, 2 5/8" diameter, now $34.21. It mounts on the column.
nick c
nick c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:00 PM   #10
mshmodela
Senior Member
 
mshmodela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,751
Default Re: Tachometer?

TACHS are for show. I drove manual tranny cars exclusively for the first 30 years of my driving and never used them... I looking forward for the 2018 jeep pick up and 6 speed manual --on my list.
__________________
-Mike

Late 31' Ford Model A Tudor, Miss Daisy

I don't work on cars --I'm learning about my Model A.

Cleveland, Ohio
mshmodela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:13 PM   #11
1crosscut
Senior Member
 
1crosscut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 1,426
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by old31 View Post
What do you guys use for a tach, and how do you hook them up
Have not hooked one up myself but I'm sure someone here will be able to explain how it is done on a Model A.
__________________
Dave

It'll feel better when it quits hurting.
1crosscut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:48 PM   #12
sphanna
Senior Member
 
sphanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Polk City, Iowa
Posts: 519
Default Re: Tachometer?

post 5 2400 rpm is about 55 mph with 3.78 not 45
__________________
Steve Hanna, Polk City, IA
sphanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:59 PM   #13
PC/SR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Tachometer?

I have the tach Snyders sells and it hooks up off the coil. Easy to do. As said, no need for one for most driving but that is an individual matter. Get the 0-3500 one. The A engine can handle over 3000 rpm, but again, not much need to do so in normal driving. They are tough engines.
PC/SR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 10:21 PM   #14
CWPASADENA
Senior Member
 
CWPASADENA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PASADENA, CA
Posts: 1,447
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by old31 View Post
What do you guys use for a tach, and how do you hook them up
I use a "Tiny-Tach".

It is a small digital tach that will mount almost anywhere.

All it needs for a hook up is one wire that is grounded and a second wire that wraps around the coil wire.

I like to run the engine between 1750 and 2000 RPM while on the road. I limit the engine to no more than 2300 RPM for short periods of time when pulling a steep hill in the lower gears etc.

I find a tach very helpful and it is fun to watch the speed of the engine.

My opinion,

Chris W.
CWPASADENA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:11 AM   #15
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick c View Post
I bought a Bosch from Jegs, FST7906, 2 5/8" diameter, now $34.21. It mounts on the column.
nick c
I believe that JEG's tach is a 12 volt positive ground 8K...not much use on a true Model A
If I'm wrong please correct me.
I for one would like a tach, but a workable/usable one is a lot of dough
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Jegs tack.jpg (37.9 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:15 AM   #16
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: Tachometer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CWPASADENA View Post
I use a "Tiny-Tach".

It is a small digital tach that will mount almost anywhere.

All it needs for a hook up is one wire that is grounded and a second wire that wraps around the coil wire.

I like to run the engine between 1750 and 2000 RPM while on the road. I limit the engine to no more than 2300 RPM for short periods of time when pulling a steep hill in the lower gears etc.

I find a tach very helpful and it is fun to watch the speed of the engine.

My opinion,

Chris W.
How about some info about that "tiny tach" model number, etc, etc.
Pics of the hook up and mounting would be helpful also
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 10:06 AM   #17
bettlesr
Senior Member
 
bettlesr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florham Park, NJ
Posts: 377
Default Re: Tachometer?

I don't remember where I bought these but they are VDO gauges. I have a full pressurized engine to go with the oil pressure gauge.I believe the tach is 12v neg ground. It can be set for 4, 6 or 8 cylinders. I think I got them from Summit Racing.

Attached Thumbnails
__________________
1965 Lotus Elan S2
1930 Model A Sport Coupe
bettlesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 11:21 AM   #18
Panteren
Junior Member
 
Panteren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dennmark
Posts: 13
Default Re: Tachometer?

http://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/tachometers
Panteren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 11:49 AM   #19
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,569
Default Re: Tachometer?

Here's mine:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Gauge Panel.jpg (53.3 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg Tachometer Autometer 2697.jpg (17.8 KB, 15 views)
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 02:40 PM   #20
wensum
Senior Member
 
wensum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 433
Default Re: Tachometer?

I have a Tiny Tach mounted in my car and it's small and easily mounted.
The response to revs is a bit delayed, but it does show you what revs you are doing and has an hour meter as well. As I recall they are cheap too!https://www.tinytach.com/
Keith
wensum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.