Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-07-2018, 07:18 PM   #1
Krylon32

Default Tig Welding

I asked this Question over on the HAMB. I've been building custom customer 28-48 Ford chassis since 1982. I have developed a health problem that requires the installation of a defibrillator. Do any of you have a devise or know anyone with a devise that is still tig welding? I'm down to just tacking with a certified welder coming in to do the finish welding. I'm getting mixed signals from my health professionals. While I'm almost 74 I am not ready to be put out to pasture yet. Your responses would be appreciated. Gary at Cornhusker Rod And Custom
Krylon32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:21 PM   #2
JSeery
Member Emeritus

Default Re: Tig Welding

Interesting question. I'll see what my son has to say.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:27 PM   #3
deuce_roadster

What do the makers of that particular medical device have to say about high freq interference?
deuce_roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:31 PM   #4
Angledrive

https://www.bostonscientific.com/con...g_20160325.pdf

https://www.bakersgas.com/weldmyworl...nd-pacemakers/
Angledrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:33 PM   #5
19Fordy

According to Miller Welding Co. it's not safe to ARC, MIG or TIG if you wear a defibrillator.
The electromagnetic field makes it unsafe.
Please play it safe as we don't want to lose a good man.

https://forum.millerwelds.com/forum/...ers-with-icd-s

https://www.arc-zone.com/blog/carmen...h-a-pacemaker/
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 08:00 PM   #6
woodiewagon46

NO! from what I have read, as 19Fordy states, it is NOT safe. There isn't a cardiologist in America that would OK it.
woodiewagon46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 08:04 PM   #7
woodiewagon46