Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2018, 03:06 PM   #1
JohnB15632
Senior Member
 
JohnB15632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Export, PA (Outside of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 505
Default 31 Model A Vacuum Line

At the risk of receiving the wrath from some Ford Barners, I will make this post anyway.
The original vacuum line that came off the original body is plugged.

Is there a trick for unplugging the tubing?
Would it be better to try to manufacture/bend a now vacuum line?

Thanks,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5344.jpg (40.7 KB, 98 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5345.jpg (37.2 KB, 82 views)
JohnB15632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:59 PM   #2
1930artdeco
Senior Member
 
1930artdeco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,595
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Run a small dia. wire through it. Or just buy an new one and bend it.


Mike
__________________
1930 TownSedan (Briggs)
Still learning after all these years....
1930artdeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-05-2018, 04:10 PM   #3
WHN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Old Lyme Connecticut
Posts: 996
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Have you tried air pressure to clear line?
WHN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 04:20 PM   #4
JohnB15632
Senior Member
 
JohnB15632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Export, PA (Outside of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 505
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Trying to blow it out with my air compressor was the very first thing that I tried.
Thanks,
JohnB15632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 06:05 PM   #5
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,917
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

You can try running a very small dia music wire but there are some real tight bends. Wish I could be of better help.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 06:19 PM   #6
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

just go to NAPA and buy a brake line that size, and make a new one.
jw hash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 07:06 PM   #7
JohnB15632
Senior Member
 
JohnB15632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Export, PA (Outside of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 505
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

I was successful in inserting a wire in both ends. It seems that the wires made it to the 90 degree bend. I then squeezed in BD Blaster thru the plastic straw. I had flow of the fluid, dripping out the other end.

So, what now do I do to increase the opening in the tube such that there will sufficient open size to allow the vacuum to operate the wiper?

Thank you for the help thus far.
JohnB15632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:58 AM   #8
Great Lakes Greg
Senior Member
 
Great Lakes Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,369
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Maybe put a little propane torch heat to the bend and cook whatever is in there? Might make more trouble, or could get it crusty enough to poke out with the wire.
Great Lakes Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 08:38 AM   #9
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,975
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Not knowing the size of the tubing, I'd suggest that maybe the frayed end of an old speedometer cable or similar could be inserted and spun w/a drill to chew it'as way through?
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 08:54 PM   #10
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

a speedo cable will not make it around the corners. the vacuum line are the same size as the small brake lines. I just used up the last one I made on the 160C I just finished.
jw hash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 07:47 PM   #11
100IH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SW Idaho
Posts: 890
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Speedo cable is too fat to fit inside vacuum line
100IH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 10:31 AM   #12
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 431
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Just a thought, might work - If you can get some fine sand into the line you could try to tamp it through with your wire. But if the clog is gooey you might just make it worse.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 11:30 AM   #13
Redbird
Senior Member
 
Redbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 429
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Shoot some brake clean into it and blow out with compressed air. Tell us what comes out.
Redbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:36 AM   #14
JohnB15632
Senior Member
 
JohnB15632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Export, PA (Outside of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 505
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

I am away visiting my son, daughter-in-law, and new grandson.
Before I left, I was able to insert lockwire into both ends up to the 90 degree bend. I was able to squirt brake cleaner into the open end.
I got a flow of the brake cleaner out. The flow was a trickle. So, I do still have some restriction in the line.
When I get back, I will continue to try to clean it out. I will also purchase a fitting to attached to the compressor to try to blow some air through.

Thank you all for your help and suggestions.
JohnB15632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 02:54 PM   #15
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 431
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Might be a bug or three got sucked in when it was disconnected. Lye (Drano) would clear that.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 10:09 PM   #16
swo4rd
Senior Member
 
swo4rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 325
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

I solved a similar problem with picture hanging wire and Kroil...i inserted the picture hanging wire and when it stopped, i attached it to a reversing drill and pushed it on until it cleared...there were at least a dozen blockages in the pipe...after all complete, i got a small diameter plastic coated picture wire, pushed it through and then frayed the end then took about two hours to pull it slowly through thus having the effect of a wire brush...there was a hole in the line which was easily patched when i restored the tern coating by tinning the pipe with 30/70 solder. Heat applied to the pipe outside at stubborn spots seemed to help...it was a two person job...To patch the hole i rand the stranded wire back into the pipe with flux on the ends and then heated up the hole area and flowed the colder in...the frayed wire had the effect of a "solder sucker" and i pulled the solder right back out.
swo4rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 11:02 PM   #17
bucket-o-rust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: visalia calif
Posts: 172
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

If for some reason you want to save the original part you can try to find a long old style choke cable and remove the very stiff inner wiire and.try running that through the line. That wire can be forced through the line by holding it with a vice grip you can even tap the vice grip with a small hammer as needed. The end of the referenced wire can be used with either a sharp pointed or rounded off end. What ever works best. GOOD LUCK
bucket-o-rust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 11:30 PM   #18
motordr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Beamsville,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 321
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

I had the same problem, mud dobers had plugged the wiper vacuum tube . I was able to clear it by poking through with the inner core of a bicycle brake cable.
motordr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 11:56 PM   #19
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by motordr View Post
I had the same problem, mud dobers had plugged the wiper vacuum tube . I was able to clear it by poking through with the inner core of a bicycle brake cable.


Mud Dober, sounds like something made up - googled it and leaned something new.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 07:45 AM   #20
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 8,803
Default Re: 31 Model A Vacuum Line

How about using your MIG welding gun to push .023 wire thru it? Just put the tip up against the tube and pull the trigger.
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.