Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-13-2016, 11:11 PM   #1
foxfire42

Default Question on installing A/C in a 1953 Merc

I'm new to the V8 flathead world with a recent purchase of a 1953 Mercury. Is there any way of converting an A/C unit of later Ford vintage and convert it to 6V operation? The only two electrical components (I think) are the compressor and the blower in the underdash evaporator. So far I've only found 12V kits. Is there a 6V compressor made and can a blower be converted to 6V?

I put an A/C in my Model A but I converted the A to 12V for the A/C. I prefer to keep my Merc stock and figured it would be tough to change to 12V unlike an A which is a much simpler task.

I've seen those 6V to 12V converters but I'm told they don't supply enough amps to run the blower.

Also is a dual belt pully available for a 53 Flathead to run a compressor?

Any suggestion greatly appreciated.

Barb Birt
foxfire42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 11:20 PM   #2
Jason in TX

Default Re: Question on installing A/C in a 1953 Merc

I know of no 6V AC units, even back to the early 50s packards or Cadillacs.

You need 12V to keep the clutch plate engaged on the compressor, 12 V to run the evaporator fan, and 12V to run the condenser fan. Relays are a huge help.
Jason in TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 01:12 PM   #3
markdtn

This is an interesting question. I have no firsthand knowledge, but it intrigued me.

These guys say that have it:
http://www.retroair.com/prewarcarac192050s.html

I also read that York made a 6V clutch for their compressors and I read than you can buy a 6V clutch for a Frigidare A-6. But-I could not find anybody selling either one.

Also there were early systems with no clutch, compressor ran all the time. The system diverted refrigerant when not needed.