Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-07-2019, 04:50 PM   #1
sphooch

Default steering question

I have an extra 2 tooth steering box I would like to play with. I mounted the steering box in a position similar to the way it is in the car, I attached a spare pitman arm and checked the movement. now guys remember I have never done this before. so with the pitman arm in a vertical position and the bolt that locks it in place positioned at 12 o'clock ,I cannot turn the steering to the right at all. I can turn it to the left until the bolt is in the 3 o'clock position. this does not seem proper to me ? any clues out there. second question: drag link, I have about 1/4 in. play at the connection I checked the components and they look like the book, wondering is there a made filler washer I can add in to take up the space? as always thanks for the help THE HOOCH
sphooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
dbaldwi3

Default Re: steering question

Just guessing but your probably at its right limit. Unless the pitman arm is keyed I would put it at the 1:30 position then remove pitman arm and reattach it at 12:00.this should give you equal movement left and right. As I said just a guess
dbaldwi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 08:20 PM   #3
Joe K

Default Re: steering question

Note you have two adjustments - the hex - and the slotted rivet

You want to start with the hex at a position so the attached eccentric is as close to the centerline of the sector/pitman arm shaft as possible. Position the slotted rivet such that its eccentric is pointing at the shaft shaft too. (opposite direction from the hex but mirror imaged.)