Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-25-2015, 04:20 PM   #1
Marcel13

Default Carburetor choices

My 1931 Model A has a Stromberg 97 setup. Runs OK but I want to go back to original as possible. Zenith is more expensive, cast iron. Tilllotson is zinc cast and reasonable. I'm buying new... Just can'r decide on my own as I'm new to owning
a Model A...I'm also going to sell my Stromberg set up...
IMG_8460.jpgIMG_0346.jpg
Marcel13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 04:25 PM   #2
ModAfan

Default Re: Carburetor choices

You might want to take a look at this one. It is a modern Zenith, model #13922. You can do a search and see what owners think of them.

http://www.autotestsys.com/Merchant2..._Code=ZEN13922
ModAfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 06:02 PM   #3
1930artdeco

Welcome Marcel,

Zenith carbs are not that expensive if you buy an original and have it rebuilt. It will more than likely be better than the new ones. That and you can do the rebuild yourself. Just get the jets from Renners Corner-they are flow tested.

Mike
Old 12-25-2015, 07:00 PM   #4
Patrick L.

I agree with using an original Zenith. They can be bought inexpensively and easily rebuilt or bought as rebuilt.
The Tillotson and Marvel are good carburetors, but, not original. There were some new Tillotsons being sold for awhile but I think they were troublesome.
The newer Zenith's [ tow motor carburetor] look a bit different than an original.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 07:08 PM   #5
2manycars

If you want original, the Zenith is the one to get. I have had a few friends buy the brand new ones from Brattons or Snyders with great results.
2manycars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 07:54 PM   #6
Charlie Stephens