Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-23-2013, 08:28 AM   #1
Terry, NJ

Default Top speed or lack of

Yesterday we had to pick up my Saab from Pa inspection and we went over in My 1930 coupe. Coming home, I tested the top speed (Speedometer doesn't work). The best was 45 MPH. Engine runs good, GAV is closed, Brakes are not dragging, engine seems cool when I stop. Everything seeds ok . However, My wife commented that the engine seems to be working very hard, I agree. I'm new to mod A's, so I'm not sure. However, The 60MPH that I read about is a far and distant dream.
Terry
Terry, NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:30 AM   #2
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Top speed or lack of

First thing I found out that limilted my A from going above 45 was the timing. Once I re adjusted it and really took my time, 60 mph was obtainable.
Old 05-23-2013, 08:33 AM   #3
Logan

Most stock A's won't run 60. If they do run 60 most of the time they feel like the pistons are swapping cylinders at 60. 45-50 is normal for a comfortable driving speed in a stock A with 3:78 standard gears in the rear end. Although I'm not sure why you closed the Gav, I usually run on about 1/4-1/2 a turn open. I'm not saying if you open it up a little that you will see 60 mph, but you are running it to lean unless you live in high elivation. Check your timing and make sure it's correct, if you're not forsure, check it with a timing light.
Old 05-23-2013, 08:35 AM   #4
Phred

The first thing that comes to mind is to open the GAV more at road speeds. The car may idle fine with closed GAV, but everybody under the hood might prefer a richer air-fuel mixture at speed.

Ignition timing may also be off, more advance for road speeds.

Hope this helps
Phred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:35 AM   #5
V4F

still i think your timing is slow .