Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-15-2014, 12:12 AM   #1
jrhoa2

Default New Model A project owner

Hello everyone. I am new to the Model A but I was recently gifted a '28-30 Model A Tudor Sedan project from a long time family friend.

Mrs. L's husband is in a care center with severe Alzheimer's and she has decided to liquidate their estate. I have been actively working with her to sell off their collection of classic/antique cars. So far I have helped her sell two 1957 ford Fairlane Skyliner projects, a 1926ish Nash parts car, a Model A parts truck, and a 1929 Chevy Sedan Special project car. This A was part of her collection.

I had drooled over this sedan back when I was in high school. I always thought it was a shame that it was just sitting there and not being finished. It had so much potential for a young guy with money to burn. I had asked for a price to buy it many times but I was always told that it was not for sale. I think they knew that I wanted to turn it into a hot rod.

I think Mrs. L's father had started restoring the A about 30 years ago. From the looks of things, he had completely restored the frame and running gear. He had started on the body but he was unable to complete it before age overtook him. He had managed to acquire a stash of used and NOS parts for the A that are included with it.

When Mrs. L told me that she was gifting the A to me, I refused. She told me that if it was not for me, none of the cars would have been sold and a lot of the cleaning of the property would have not gotten done. I kept telling her that she was family and that is what family does for each other. Well, that argument didn't work so well. She threw it right back at me and told me that I was family and she was giving me part of the estate.