Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-04-2014, 02:12 AM   #1
Jonnyenglish

Default Snyder or Thomas head

Hi,

Im looking at getting a new higher comp head for my newly bought 30 sport coupe. Il need to get the head shipped to the UK.

I see that Snyders to their own branded head but also sell a Thomas head (which is more expensive) I will spend the extra if its worth it.

What are the differences and which would you rate higher?

Im new to all this, so apologies if its been covered before.

Thanks
Jonnyenglish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 02:58 AM   #2
juke joint johnny

Default Re: Snyder or Thomas head

Welcome to the Barn
Where in the Uk are you ? You might be around the corner from another Barner !!
juke joint johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 03:40 AM   #3
Charlie Stephens

I am not familiar with the exact heads but be sure to check to see if there is enough room over the pistons if yours pop up over the top of the block. I know this was a problem (please don't ask how I know) with the original Thomas heads. I assume the Snyder head has a recess over the piston like a Model A "Police" head.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 04:22 AM   #4
colin1928

I have used both heads if you want a head that looks original and gives a little more power the Synder is the go
the Thomas will give even more power has higher compression better chamber shape modern metric spark plugs and as you can see looks like a performance head
the Thomas has very thick deck so can be milled for even higher compression
they are fly cut so piston clearance not a problem
Colin
colin1928 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 04:54 AM   #5
BRENT in 10-uh-C

This also depends on which Snyder iron head you are after. Their iron 6:1 head has a better chamber design that was 'flogged' by Bill Stipe.

BRENT in 10-uh-C