Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2020, 07:58 AM   #1
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,992
Default condenser re-locating to coil

I received a PM from Moe up in Canada on details for moving the condenser up from the distributor to the coil. I tried to reply to his PM but there is no icon for attaching pictures in a pm (?) so I am posting it here in the forum for all. Make a piece of steel about 1/2 by 3 and drill a hole at the bottom and one at the top. Remove the condenser from down at the distributer. Mount the strip to the bolt that holds the coil. Then connect the condenser to the coil terminal that goes down to the distributer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cond.jpg (35.8 KB, 172 views)
oldford2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 01:13 PM   #2
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 354
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

John,thanks again, Moe
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-25-2020, 01:28 PM   #3
GB SISSON
Senior Member
 
GB SISSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orcas Island Washington
Posts: 2,392
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

I like that location. I wish I could mount the whole distributor up there!
__________________
'47 1/2 ton pickup next project, '47 one ton panel 99% stock nearing completion, '47 2 ton with 8ba and 9' script stakebed, '46 1/2 ton woodie project,'59 F350 9' flareside pickup with cummins 6at. 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 06:42 PM   #4
JayChicago
Senior Member
 
JayChicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 130
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

Yea, I want to do that too! Went to remove my condenser today, and what a pain to get to it! (on a 37, on an aftermarket Mallory crab, with an electric fan in the way)

Anyone know of a downside to mounting the condenser off the remote coil like that?
JayChicago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:13 PM   #5
Jack E/NJ
Senior Member
 
Jack E/NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

Sorry. I think there's probably only an upside. 8^) Jack E/NJ
Jack E/NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:14 PM   #6
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,992
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

This was brought up some years ago by 42 guy who raced flatheads. Some electric guys thought that because of the distance there was some drop in mili??? Bottom line was that for drivers this was a good re-location. The first time we have what we think is sudden ignition problem we take the first and easiest try which is to replace the condenser. Many times that is the answer. On the side of the road at night this is no fun.
So my opinion is there is no downside. My 46 has been like that for 10 years and the one time it started bucking and running poorly a new condenser took care of it. Easy change.
John

Last edited by oldford2; 05-25-2020 at 07:23 PM.
oldford2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:47 PM   #7
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 6,315
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

A longer lead does add to the capacitance. If you look at a high-end condenser tester, it will have special short leads to be used when testing condensers for exactly this reason. Most Mallory distributors have a brass strap for connecting the condensers. Even with all of that, it probably doesn't make enough difference to be concerned about.

Given all of that, if you are making a longer condenser lead, use at least 12 gauge wire (10 is even better but sometimes a little unwieldly).
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 04:55 PM   #8
42guy
Senior Member
 
42guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 280
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

You can use a condenser from early 80's Mopar. when I started this, I was in touch Std. Blue Streak and they recommended AL111X. I have had the same condenser for 15 yrs, When I purchased them, they were still made in the USA.
42guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 06:22 PM   #9
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 354
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

That condenser can be used in a 47 Ford V8 and 6 volt car?
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 02:27 AM   #10
dumb person
Senior Member
 
dumb person's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South pacific island
Posts: 1,724
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolcoupe View Post
That condenser can be used in a 47 Ford V8 and 6 volt car?
All ignition coils spike up to near 80+ volts on the primary side so it's likely they would work fine.
__________________
<Link> This is how we roll<Link>

"I'm Convinced that no one really reads posts anymore; they just fabricate what they think the post says then ramble on about red herrings."--Bob
Outcasts rules of old cars
#1 Fun is imperative, mainstream is overrated
#2 If they think it is impossible, prove them wrong
#3 If the science says it impossible you are not being creative enough.
#4 No shame in recreating something you never had
#5 If it were not for the law & physics you would be unstoppable
dumb person is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 08:52 AM   #11
G.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida and Penna.
Posts: 4,341
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolcoupe View Post
That condenser can be used in a 47 Ford V8 and 6 volt car?
Condensers work in 6 or 12 volts systems. Th voltage to the coil
wants to be 4.0 volts. Higher burns points and lower is hard to
start. G.M.
__________________
www.fordcollector.com
G.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 08:28 PM   #12
JayChicago
Senior Member
 
JayChicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chicago
Posts: 130
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.M. View Post
Th voltage to the coil
wants to be 4.0 volts.
I think it should be noted for new guys that is with engine running or cranking, points opening and closing. For those working in the garage with engine stopped, about 3 volts at the coil is normal. Later when engine is turning, points open 20% of the time, no current flow and therefore no voltage drop thru the resistor 20% of the time, averaged voltage will then jump up to 3.5 to 4 volts.
JayChicago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 09:04 PM   #13
Jack E/NJ
Senior Member
 
Jack E/NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: condenser re-locating to coil

With a 30* dwell closed, I think points are open closer to 67% of the time. 8^) Jack E/NJ
Jack E/NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.