Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2019, 07:35 AM   #1
Ed in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 645
Default 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

I am going through my 31 Victoria and the item that stands out is that the ampere meter stays on zero. I have a new battery and the car came with a 6v alternator. The car runs perfectly. Looking at the schematic it looks to me that the ampere meter may be defective. No charging or discharging is indicated. Since the car starts and runs nicely, it must be the movement portion of the ampere meter. Any other thoughts? Thank you, Ed
Ed in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 07:40 AM   #2
eagle
Senior Member
 
eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Eagle Bend, MN
Posts: 1,553
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

A good battery will last quite a while without the charging system working. Use a good quality voltmeter , check the voltage right on the battery with engine off, then running at a high idle.
__________________
"There are some that can destroy an anvil with a teaspoon and shouldn't be allowed to touch anything resembling a tool."
eagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-19-2019, 07:44 AM   #3
marty in Ohio
Senior Member
 
marty in Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 563
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

Ed,
If you have to get a new amp meter, good luck. I bought one a couple years ago from a good supplier and before I installed it the needle fell off the post. I called my supplier and they refunded my money. I offered to send the defective part back and they told me "throw it away, the part was junk any way."
Marty
marty in Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 10:19 AM   #4
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 552
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

Make sure it's a 20-amp meter. With alternator and new battery a larger capacity ammeter may not provide enough deflection to notice 1-2 amps charge.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 10:21 AM   #5
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,338
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

FWIW, for the uninformed, the proper terminology is ammeter.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 10:56 PM   #6
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,045
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

If you remove one wire from the meter and the car will not start then you have a bad meter. If the car still starts then you have a wiring error'
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 11:43 PM   #7
Stew Masche
Senior Member
 
Stew Masche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lake Mills, WI
Posts: 213
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

I had a poor quality reproduction that would occasionally stick. try tapping it lightly while the car is running to see if it will move. Tap too hard, it may fall apart. Good originals can also be found at swap meets, etc.
__________________
Always one bad decision away from a good time.
Stew Masche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 11:47 PM   #8
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,770
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

Try turning on the lights or sounding the horn without the motor running. Watch the ammeter and see if it shows a deflection. If yes, things are looking good. If no, you have a wiring issue or a dud ammeter.
__________________
For the first half of our life we trade our health for wealth. For the second half, we trade our wealth for health.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 02:50 AM   #9
Magicbox51
Senior Member
 
Magicbox51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 627
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

Had it been indicating a charge/discharge previously and then quit?
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Magicbox51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 06:53 AM   #10
marty in Ohio
Senior Member
 
marty in Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 563
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

KATY,
You know, I thought the correct term was ammeter also, but before I responded in post #3 I looked in the Snyder's book and they called it an "amp meter."
Go figure.
Marty
marty in Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 11:40 AM   #11
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 552
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

"Ammeter" is the correct term, but since it's a shortened version of "ampere meter" I see nothing much wrong with "amp meter". Just sounds a little odd to those of us who use the term often in our professional work.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 12:39 PM   #12
rocket1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland Park,N.J.
Posts: 910
Default Re: 31 Victoria Ampere Meter

How many amperes is the ammeter reading! English go figure.
rocket1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.