Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2016, 09:36 AM   #1
flathead47
Member
 
flathead47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto , Ontario
Posts: 72
Default 36 glove box

I'm working on my project 36 dash & the glove box door is stuck slightly open. I have removed it from the dash & trying to free it up. It appears the ends of the round hinge bar attached to the door are fixed & should not move. Is the hinge bar a complete assembly that goes thru the dash mounting bracket as one unit or are there 2 separate pieces that slide into each end of the dash mounting bracket. It is a hard assembly to find so do not want to destroy the hinge assembly , just want to free it up.
flathead47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 10:19 AM   #2
Willit Stop
Senior Member
 
Willit Stop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eureka Calif.
Posts: 855
Default Re: 36 glove box

My '36 had the same problem.Squirt some penetrating oil on the moving parts and work them back and forth.It should free everything up. One of my flat springs broke. It still closes nicely and completely with one spring.
Willit Stop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-08-2016, 11:11 AM   #3
flathead47
Member
 
flathead47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto , Ontario
Posts: 72
Default Re: 36 glove box

thanks willit stop .... I put penetrating oil on hinge , will just have to let it work.
I only have one spring in the center , early ford book states only roadster & phatons had one in center like mine , looks like it has been like that for a long time , all the rest should have two , I wonder if early 35 only had one & this got put on my dash.
flathead47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 06:27 PM   #4
mrtexas
Senior Member
 
mrtexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 4,185
Default Re: 36 glove box

Soak in evaporust. The hinge wire is rusted to the door. It fixed mine.
mrtexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 07:26 AM   #5
Kerk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 565
Default Re: 36 glove box

Try some KROIL and maybe a little heat + time and keep working what little it does move. Worked for me. kx
Kerk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 04:13 PM   #6
Ken Bull
Senior Member
 
Ken Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Port St Lucie Florida
Posts: 398
Default Re: 36 glove box

I put my hinge in a vise and soaked with WD40 and moved it back and forth several Xs. Its been fine for 5 years.
Ken Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:23 PM   #7
flathead47
Member
 
flathead47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto , Ontario
Posts: 72
Default Re: 36 glove box

Patience , some Barnes Distribution BD 7-77 penitrant & I was able to get the hinge free. Thanks for all your replies , another part saved.
flathead47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.