Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-03-2018, 07:05 AM   #1
ericsauto

Default Bad Wheel Wooble and fix

Ok, I have been reading a lot about wheel wobble, death shake, whatever you want to call it. I learned a lot from this forum just being new to Model A . So I was in our local Antique Car parade last Saturday ( Won the First place in my class) and during the parade, my "Wobble" became pretty violent around 15 to 20 miles an hour. I made it through and made it home with no issues. I decided to start investigating it thoroughly. Now I have been an automotive Tech and Owner of a shop for almost 40 years now and I wanted to get down to the basics. Here is the one mistake I made when I purchased this car. "I did not go through everything first"! I purchased this very nice car from a gentleman that took very good care of it but I now know it has not been serviced in a while. I did all the oil and coolant ( water), hoses, stuff like that but never really got into bearings, brakes, etc. I know better but that is what it is. So here is what I did to fix it.

1. Repacked all the bearings front and rear
2. Greased every grease fitting
3. New stainless lugs with stainless washers (From Snyder's)
4. Adjusted PSi down to 35 psi ( was at 41 psi)
5. Checked the toe settings
6. Made darn sure all front end parts were safe and in spec.
7. Installed a "quality" steering stabilizer ( from Snyders)

That's it. This car runs like a whole different car. I know I have read not to put a steering stabilizer on the car but I totally disagree with that. Most shows will not deduct points for "safety items" on the car. ( Shocks, seat belts, turn signals, stabilizer, etc). As a professional mechanic, I can tell you steering stabilizers help front end parts from wearing as much and makes the ride just a bit more enjoyable.