Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2020, 09:30 AM   #1
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Starter Switch Question

I have an A I'm looking as a potential purchase, 29 Fordor. When we went to see it the owner tells me the starter just spins when the battery is connected. We look at the starter switch and it appears to be stuck in the start position. Checking his parts stash we find a new switch. We put it on to get it going but the starter rod is stuck and won't depress. I assume it's out of alignment and that's what caused the old switch to fail, he pushed it in and it wouldn't retract so the starter just kept spinning.

The fellow is not to mechanically sauve and insists that he needs to take the starter in to be repaired.

Is there any adjustment to the starter rod I can make to get it to free up?

Thanks!
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 09:35 AM   #2
1930artdeco
Senior Member
 
1930artdeco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,802
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Just u screw it and reattach the rod to the new one. You may want to pull it to verify that the be did is working properly.

Mike
__________________
1930 TownSedan (Briggs)
Still learning after all these years....
1930artdeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-10-2020, 09:36 AM   #3
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1930artdeco View Post
Just u screw it and reattach the rod to the new one. You may want to pull it to verify that the be did is working properly.

Mike
Thanks, we did that. Once installed the rod is stuck and won't slide up or down.
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 09:43 AM   #4
Will N
Senior Member
 
Will N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 806
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

The rod passes through a grommet in the firewall. Could be the rod is binding in the grommet. Disconnect the rod from the switch, and see if the rod moves freely. If not squirt some oil on the grommet and work it back and forth until it moves freely.
Will N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 09:45 AM   #5
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,279
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Remove starter check Bendix. Low battery. One of my cars did the same thing yesterday, Battery showed 6volts but as soon as hit starter not enough! Battery was 5 years old. New battery running Great.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cars.jpg (66.3 KB, 7 views)
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 09:56 AM   #6
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Thanks all. I'll give these a try.
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 10:44 AM   #7
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,818
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will N View Post
The rod passes through a grommet in the firewall. Could be the rod is binding in the grommet. Disconnect the rod from the switch, and see if the rod moves freely. If not squirt some oil on the grommet and work it back and forth until it moves freely.
Alternately, tie a string under the head of the starter push rod, after pushing the rod to engage the starter and start the engine, pull the string to disengage the starter.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 11:41 AM   #8
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,501
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

It could be that the engine has shifted and put the rod into a bind. This happens often with the choke rod. See if the choke rod is free to slide. There is nothing to the starter switch. Take it apart and see what is wrong. I'm pretty sure it's not the starter motor.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 11:45 AM   #9
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,553
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Time to get out the hand crank. Worry about fixing the starter motor later if you buy it. Another topic, remember THERE IS A LOT OF WOOD IN A '29 FORDOR. If the wood is bad its costs a lot to replace it. You should add your general location to your profile, you can never tell when it will pay off.

Charlie Stephens

Last edited by Charlie Stephens; 04-10-2020 at 11:52 AM.
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 01:37 PM   #10
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

I remember reading something about the new switches binding. Can't remember anything more but I'll look for the thread that mentions it. Probably a Vintique part.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:55 AM   #11
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,279
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKY View Post
I have an A I'm looking as a potential purchase, 29 Fordor. When we went to see it the owner tells me the starter just spins when the battery is connected. We look at the starter switch and it appears to be stuck in the start position. Checking his parts stash we find a new switch. We put it on to get it going but the starter rod is stuck and won't depress. I assume it's out of alignment and that's what caused the old switch to fail, he pushed it in and it wouldn't retract so the starter just kept spinning.

The fellow is not to mechanically sauve and insists that he needs to take the starter in to be repaired.

Is there any adjustment to the starter rod I can make to get it to free up?

Thanks!
Did you get it started and then buy it??
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 11:02 AM   #12
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

My solution would be to knock a thousand dollars off the asking price
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 11:21 AM   #13
bobbader
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 48
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Could be an early 28 starter which takes a totally different switch. If you remove the switch, there should be an insulated copper button about the diameter of a quarter protruding from the starter. It should be flat across its top and the copper should be about 1/8" thick. If, instead, the copper post is much taller than 1/8" on the front side and the top of the button looks like a ski slope (about 5/8" at highest point toward front of the car and sloping down to 1/8" in back) then the car has the earlier starter. reproduction switches for this starter are not made and you need to search for an original switch. I don't know if the newer type switch will even mount on the early starter but, if it does, there will be an immediate and constant electrical contact made which will cause the starter to run continuously once it is hooked up to a power source.
The good part is, if it has the early starter, it is easy enough to swap it for the later version and hope that that cures this and any other starting/running issues the vehicle has. If not, the "$1000 off the top of the price" is a more than viable suggestion.

Good Luck,

Bob Bader
bobbader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 10:36 AM   #14
McMimmcs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Posts: 739
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

I suggest you start it with the crank. If it starts the problem is not too serious and should not be a deal breaker. It’s likely a tinkering type of problem. Happy driving!
McMimmcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 02:58 PM   #15
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary WA View Post
Did you get it started and then buy it??
Yes, he found a used switch that fit and worked. The new one in the parts box was junk. I bought it.
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 02:59 PM   #16
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by burner31 View Post
My solution would be to knock a thousand dollars off the asking price
Didn't want to buy it without running and driving it.
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 03:31 PM   #17
JKY
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 38
Default Re: Starter Switch Question

Double post, sorry
JKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.