Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2020, 11:48 AM   #1
Flyboy1st
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 44
Default Remote oil Filter Adp

What way do I attach my oil filter so it will be mounted downward instead of sideways using Mike's oil filter cover kit?
Flyboy1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 11:58 AM   #2
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,745
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Use an adapter:
https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Ford-...ter,27896.html
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FF oil filter w 90.jpg (29.4 KB, 42 views)
__________________
Play it again Sam.

Last edited by katy; 01-03-2020 at 12:16 PM. Reason: Addition
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-03-2020, 11:58 AM   #3
duke36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Speedway Motors 90 deg. filter adapter kit , Ford Racing or others.
duke36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 12:05 PM   #4
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 7,045
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Summit has an adapter. https://www.summitracing.com/parts/f...-a50/overview/
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 12:05 PM   #5
Curtis in MA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Leicester, MA
Posts: 211
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Does it take more pressure to push the oil back up?
Curtis in MA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 12:33 PM   #6
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,745
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Not enough to worry about.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 01:15 PM   #7
arnhemmer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 80
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Using the adapter I fill the filter with oil before installing it to shorten the pause in circulation since it holds almost a quart of oil. I don't know if this is necessary but it doesn't hurt to do it just in case.
arnhemmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 01:23 PM   #8
Flyboy1st
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 44
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

That's a good idea, my filter drains back into the crankcase after a day or two from the filter after running. It will read a quart or so high until I start the engine. I use a Ford oil filter that has a check valve but it must not be stopping slow seeping.
Flyboy1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 05:24 PM   #9
California Travieso
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 694
Send a message via Yahoo to California Travieso
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

Wow. For $90, you'd think they would throw in a filter!


David Serrano
California Travieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 08:30 AM   #10
brokenspoke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Anderson, Texas
Posts: 192
Default Re: Remote oil Filter Adp

https://photos.app.goo.gl/dvuph9erhvp5Z2Bz9
brokenspoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.