Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 04:37 PM   #1
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Electrical question on horn on 36

I would like to hook up an auxiliary horn in place of my original horn.
Can I run a push style button from a power source directly to the horn wires.
Would I need a fuse ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:59 PM   #2
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,756
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Sure you can hook up an auxiliary horn, but there are a number of considerations. Is your car 6v or 12v for one. The original horn(s) were direct wired from the starter switch hot terminal. You could wire it similarly, but I would use a relay. It is going to depend on how you want it to look. Horns are normally wired hot all the time and a horn button to ground is used to activate them. Horn circuits are not normally fused.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-26-2020, 08:01 PM   #3
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

my car is still 6v...what is the advantage of using a relay ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:33 PM   #4
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,756
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Just a better way to do it, same reason Ford started using them. BUT, it will work as well as the original 36 horns do wired direct.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:20 PM   #5
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Thanks for the info...this forum is great.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 07:47 AM   #6
Juergen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 340
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

You did not specify the type of auxiliary horn (1 wire or 2 wire). Ford used a one wire grounded horn after 1937 with a relay. The relay sent power to the horn with the return through ground. The two wire horn had power constantly to one wire and was grounded with the second wire through the switch.
Juergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 11:03 AM   #7
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

I am going to use my existing 36 horn which is two wire....the wires going to my 36 horn show power in both wires, both the yellow wire and the blue wire.
SHOULD THERE BE POWER IN BOTH WIRES ?

I have had the electrical switch which encapsulates to horn switch out so many times to see what the horn problem was but have been unable to locate the problem...All my lights work.
I even pulled the steering inner shaft out and removed the horn button but could not see anything wrong.

Last edited by zoegrant; 03-27-2020 at 11:10 AM.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:51 PM   #8
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,985
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
I am going to use my existing 36 horn which is two wire....the wires going to my 36 horn show power in both wires, both the yellow wire and the blue wire.
SHOULD THERE BE POWER IN BOTH WIRES ?

I have had the electrical switch which encapsulates to horn switch out so many times to see what the horn problem was but have been unable to locate the problem...All my lights work.
I even pulled the steering inner shaft out and removed the horn button but could not see anything wrong.

Did you show power on that wire at the button? It should have power on that wire, and by grounding that wire (which pushing the button normally does), the horn should blow. DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


It's one thing to be ignorant! It's a whole 'nother story when you're proud of it!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 10:10 PM   #9
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

There was power on that wire under the horn button.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 12:38 AM   #10
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,985
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
There was power on that wire under the horn button.

If that wire shows to be powered like you say, and you push the button WITHOUT the horn sounding, it sounds like the horn button connection is not contacting the grounded surface for some reason. DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


It's one thing to be ignorant! It's a whole 'nother story when you're proud of it!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 08:40 AM   #11
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

I presume that the end of the horn wire in the light switch pod is supposed to hit the center post in the light switch, correct ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 12:50 PM   #12
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,985
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
I presume that the end of the horn wire in the light switch pod is supposed to hit the center post in the light switch, correct ?

Here are some pics of the internals of that switch so you can picture how it works down there. Remember, the disc with the wire bundles hanging from the other side is the bottom-most part, with the wires exiting towards their destinations around the vehicle, including a wire FROM the horns. The second disc is the upper that clearly shows the blue horn wire that continues up to the horn button. Note the center, spring-loaded pass-thru connection carries current from the horns themselves toward the horn button at top of column, waiting to be grounded. This help any? DD








This 1936 Ford wiring diagram, provided compliments of Mac VanPelt, shows that the two horns (toward the RIGHT side of drawing) are wired "HOT", directly from BATT power, continuing through the horns, and routed through the light switch assembly toward the horn button.







...
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


It's one thing to be ignorant! It's a whole 'nother story when you're proud of it!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 09:58 PM   #13
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

DD...thanks for the great pictures. It appears that I have all wires hooked properly as all light work. When I removed the steering column shaft I tested for continuity in case a wire was broken and all appeared good.
I misspoke in a previous post where I stated that I tested for power when I actually tested for continuity in the horn wire. At that time I did remove the horn button and all looked as I thought it should. I am now leaning toward the problem being in the horn button. I think somehow it is not making contact when depressed.
When I put the button back on the light switch in the wheel I did not see where it had to be aligned in any certain way. I just straightened the tabs on the back of the button and pushed it in and then bent the tabs back over again.
DOES IT HAVE TO LINE UP IN A CERTAIN WAY ?

Last edited by zoegrant; 03-29-2020 at 11:16 AM.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 07:18 AM   #14
Steve Kennedy
Senior Member
 
Steve Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 227
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Just curious, when you removed the horn button AND LONG ROD, did you have to unbolt the steering column from the dash and push the steering column down to pull the rod out through the rear window?
Steve Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 11:15 AM   #15
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 692
Default Re: Electrical question on horn on 36

Steve....Yes I did...
Does anyone know the answer to my question on posting #13 ????????
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.