Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2019, 03:39 PM   #1
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 2,954
Default ?? Float a Motor rear mount

I would be appreciative if someone could post a photo of the rear float a motor mount installed. I am considering using one to add support for my '39 transmission installed. I have two pieces of a mount and wonder if there is a third piece.
Russ/40 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 04:22 PM   #2
NZ28ModelA
Member
 
NZ28ModelA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 78
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

Morning!

If someone doesn't do it sooner. i should have a couple of pics for you tomorrow morning..

Kindest regards
NZ28ModelA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-08-2019, 05:14 PM   #3
PalAl
Senior Member
 
PalAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Orangeville Illinois
Posts: 124
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

This might help
https://www.google.com/search?q=picture+of+float-a-motor+installed+on+Model+A+Ford&rlz=1C1PRFC_enUS70 5US705&oq=picture+of+float-a-motor+installed+on+Model+A+Ford&aqs=chrome..69i57j 33.26478j0j8&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
PalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 05:18 PM   #4
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,424
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ/40 View Post
I would be appreciative if someone could post a photo of the rear float a motor mount installed. I am considering using one to add support for my '39 transmission installed. I have two pieces of a mount and wonder if there is a third piece.
There is a cast iron part that mounts at the rear and there is a square or slightly rectangular thinner steel part with two bolt holes . A mostly square rubber block fits against the lower lip of the center cross member . there should be two bolts that are used to attach the thinner steel part with two holes . The steel part lays on top of the rubber block and when the two long bolts get tightened it raises and stabilizes the rear of the transmission .Without this mount , there will be chatter, or it waS FOR ME .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:13 PM   #5
Joop
Senior Member
 
Joop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,285
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

We tried it on a friends car that has the 39 transmission BUT the clam shells around the universal joint are wider and the 1928-1931 FLM rear bracket did not fit.
Joop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:09 PM   #6
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 2,954
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joop View Post
We tried it on a friends car that has the 39 transmission BUT the clam shells around the universal joint are wider and the 1928-1931 FLM rear bracket did not fit.
Did you use the V8 clamshell or the A clamshell?

Just went out to check the fit. The "A" piece from the kit is about 1/4" wider than the clamshell on my truck.

I purchased the rear mount that I found on the "attic" sale on "Mike's A's" website for $5, It's an aluminum version.
I would be interested in seeing any self made versions on other 39/A installations, and hearing about your experiences.

Last edited by Russ/40; 10-08-2019 at 08:44 PM.
Russ/40 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 07:15 AM   #7
Joop
Senior Member
 
Joop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,285
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

It must have been the V8 one
Joop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 11:44 PM   #8
31Abone
Senior Member
 
31Abone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Big pine Ca 93513
Posts: 704
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

Remenber rear floaters will change your caster..measure with old style then adjust floats to match..sc
31Abone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 08:47 PM   #9
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,619
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

RE; Remenber rear floaters will change your caster..measure with old style then adjust floats to match..sc



People have been installing float a motor mounts for years, please elaborate on what you mean. Are you talking about the rear transmission support?
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 09:34 PM   #10
31Abone
Senior Member
 
31Abone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Big pine Ca 93513
Posts: 704
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

Caster is controlled by height of bell housing in relation to frame..,Ford original style rear motor mounts were designed to have proper caster for front axle..when one installsl float a motor rear mounts they are usaully at a different height than original...had this happen to me ..car was darting all over the road after floats were installed but steered good with original mounts..if you have original mounts then measure exact level of bell housing in relation to frame, then adjust your float pads up or down to match.. sc
31Abone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 12:23 AM   #11
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 286
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

I think you would have to change the height of the engine quite a bit to change the caster very much. It has been awhile but I seem to remember you have to lower the radius rod mounting ~" to change caster 1 at the spindles.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 10:28 AM   #12
31Abone
Senior Member
 
31Abone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Big pine Ca 93513
Posts: 704
Default Re: ?? Float a Motor rear mount

My car was a 31 tudor that had a bad vibrating motor , steered good until I put floats on rear of motor which by the way did not help much ,but it did change the steering ,but I failed to measure exact height of wishbone ball before I installed floats, sold car shortly thereafter so I never fixed it back correctly..got no idea how much it was lowered or raised radius ball ,but it was enough to screw the steering.
31Abone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.