Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2018, 01:01 PM   #1
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Does anybody make an electric conversion fuel gauge that fits in stock '35 instrument cluster? Also the sending unit?
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 01:11 PM   #2
deuce lover
Senior Member
 
deuce lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern France
Posts: 2,972
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

No but you can use a early 36 which has nearly the same color face.
deuce lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-11-2018, 04:25 PM   #3
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Thx duece,
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:44 PM   #4
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Seems no stock aftermarket new '36 fuel gauges available either?
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:31 AM   #5
oldandtired
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Edgefield, SC
Posts: 703
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

My 35 pickup had single gauges in it instead of the dual gauges and I changed out the hydrostatic fuel gauge for an electric 36 single gauge. I believe I still have a spare NOS 36 electric fuel gauge out in one of the buildings. I can check if you are interested. It has been several years since I looked.
oldandtired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 08:06 AM   #6
Charlie ny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,312
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

AG,
Try Third Gen Automotive.......Mike Driskell.......he most likely can help you.
Before Mike came on the scene I kept an eye out at swap meets for these dash
gauges they do show up from time to time. Any 6v FORD GAS TANK SENDING UNIT will

work. Just as challenging is dropping the tank and fitting the sending unit.
Charlie ny
Charlie ny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 10:57 AM   #7
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Thx & will get back to u oldandtired, got a bid in on one @ the dreaded Ebay��. Thx for the info Charlie. Gas tank new from Tanks Inc & put in a few yrs ago. Car doesn’t see weather so S/B an easy out. I’m checking w Tanks on sending unit for the ‘36 gauge.
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 01:36 PM   #8
Licensed to kill
Senior Member
 
Licensed to kill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 600
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldandtired View Post
My 35 pickup had single gauges in it instead of the dual gauges and I changed out the hydrostatic fuel gauge for an electric 36 single gauge. I believe I still have a spare NOS 36 electric fuel gauge out in one of the buildings. I can check if you are interested. It has been several years since I looked.
If Anthony doesn't take that, I may be interested. Need one for my '35 truck. Was wanting to go with the '36 dual gauges but a single fuel gauge would be fine if it's nice. Been looking at them on eBay as well but will stay clear for now so I don't inadvertently run Anthony's price up. I'm not in a hurry.
Licensed to kill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 01:57 PM   #9
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 4,828
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

I think the tank sender opening is different between hydrostatic and electric--- I think I remember seeing an adapter plate to use the later tank with earlier sender--- but probably as simple as drilling and tapping a new set of holes
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:28 PM   #10
Licensed to kill
Senior Member
 
Licensed to kill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 600
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt in NJ View Post
I think the tank sender opening is different between hydrostatic and electric--- I think I remember seeing an adapter plate to use the later tank with earlier sender--- but probably as simple as drilling and tapping a new set of holes
I had wondered about that but an adaptor would be pretty simple to make.
Licensed to kill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:53 PM   #11
Don Rogers
Senior Member
 
Don Rogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wildwood, MO. (near St. Louis)
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Please keep in mind that a 35 gas tank is different than a 36 unit. The 35 tank has one hole on top. The sending unit has both an air (hydrostatic) line and a fuel line. A 36 tank has a hole on top for the electric gauge unit and a hole in the front edge of the tank for the gas siphon. To use a 36 electric unit in a 35 tank you will have to do one of two things. 1. leave the 35 hydrostatic unit in place to siphon the gas and add a second hole on top for the electric sender. or 2. Modify the top hole to fit the 36 electric unit and place a second gas siphon fitting on the front edge of the tank.

The best option is to replace the 35 tank with a 36 tank!!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 35tank.jpg (57.5 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg 36tank.jpg (27.0 KB, 23 views)
Don Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:49 PM   #12
Licensed to kill
Senior Member
 
Licensed to kill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 600
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Rogers View Post
Please keep in mind that a 35 gas tank is different than a 36 unit. The 35 tank has one hole on top. The sending unit has both an air (hydrostatic) line and a fuel line. A 36 tank has a hole on top for the electric gauge unit and a hole in the front edge of the tank for the gas siphon. To use a 36 electric unit in a 35 tank you will have to do one of two things. 1. leave the 35 hydrostatic unit in place to siphon the gas and add a second hole on top for the electric sender. or 2. Modify the top hole to fit the 36 electric unit and place a second gas siphon fitting on the front edge of the tank.

The best option is to replace the 35 tank with a 36 tank!!!!!
Mine is a truck (35) and the sending unit is on the bottom
Licensed to kill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:50 PM   #13
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,111
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Somewhat similar problem as I would think you would have to move the sender location to the top of the tank to use the later sending units. Then there is the fun of finding a good K-S sending unit.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 09:23 AM   #14
Don Rogers
Senior Member
 
Don Rogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wildwood, MO. (near St. Louis)
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

LTK You might want to look into a 1937 truck fuel tank. It has the electrical sending unit on the top of the tank.
Don Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:32 AM   #15
Licensed to kill
Senior Member
 
Licensed to kill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 600
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Somewhat similar problem as I would think you would have to move the sender location to the top of the tank to use the later sending units. Then there is the fun of finding a good K-S sending unit.
What is a "K-S" sending unit?.
Licensed to kill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:35 AM   #16
Licensed to kill
Senior Member
 
Licensed to kill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 600
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Rogers View Post
LTK You might want to look into a 1937 truck fuel tank. It has the electrical sending unit on the top of the tank.
If they are the same otherwise and I could find one. The chances of finding one around here are pretty dismal. Would be rather simple to make a hole in the top for a sending unit. Would just have to remove the existing sender and go in there with a bore scope to find the right location (away from any baffles) OR, just make it directly across from the existing one. The reality is that I don't really NEED a working fuel gauge. It's not like I'm going to take this thing on a cross country trek. I just don't like things that don't work.
Licensed to kill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 12:36 PM   #17
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,057
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

To answer your question "K-S" stands for "King-Seely" who manufactured gauges and sending units for Ford for many years. They work differently than most electric gauges, using points in the sending unit that open and close at different rates in response to differences in input (heat, pressure, etc) rather than resistance.
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 03:28 PM   #18
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,111
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

What tubman said!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:13 PM   #19
gnolnor
Senior Member
 
gnolnor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

AnthonyG, I have an early '36, but no sending unit. See pictures and let me know. It works and is electric. Let me know in a private message. $40.00 plus shipping. gnolnor
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1608.jpg (33.4 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1610.jpg (33.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1611.jpg (29.5 KB, 16 views)
gnolnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 02:14 PM   #20
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

oldandtired & gnolnor Thx to U both, sent pm's & can never figure out if they went , anyway I got the one i bid on e-bay.
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 02:27 PM   #21
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

Thx for the good info on location and specifics on the sending unit. My tank is an after market from Tanks Inc. and they sell a couple of sending units for the tank I have. One the float rod needs to be adjusted/cut to right length the other is already set up for my tank with the correct rod length & ohm requirement.
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 10:08 AM   #22
Planojc
Senior Member
 
Planojc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 551
Default Re: Electric fuel gauge for '35?

I'm running a Tanks tank with their sending unit and a 36 gauge in my 35. Works great.
Planojc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.