Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-07-2018, 08:50 PM   #1
Dick Webber

Default 49 Mercury overdrive transmission assembly question

For years I have been accumulating parts to change my stock 49 Mercury to overdrive.

The completed unit is assembled but with cover off it turns freely in neutral but will only shift into second. When shifting to high, low or reverse it will only turn a few degrees.

The 28 tooth cluster appears New and has the right tooth count. I have have checked the tooth count on all gears. I disassembled and reassembled to check for errors and found none. The overdrive turns freely and will free wheel with lever forward.

After I put it together again today it did the same thing. I'm no mechanic but I've done this a dozen times over 60 years. Had the shop manual in front of me.

I'm stumped. Anyone have any ideas?
Dick Webber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 12:41 AM   #2
Alaska Jim

Default Re: 49 Mercury overdrive transmission assembly question

I am by no means an expert, but maybe the reverse lock out shift rail is not working correctly. rotorwrench here on the barn is very familiar with the o/d trans. maybe he can give you some ideas
Alaska Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 03:39 AM   #3
expavr

“The overdrive turns freely and will free wheel with lever forward. “

If the lever you’re referring to is the one that locks up the O/D and its all the way forward the O/D function should be locked out and the transmission shouldn’t be free wheeling. When you turn the input shaft with second gear engaged does the output shaft turn? I doubt that the shift rail is the source of this problem, but it sounds like there is an issue with how its interacting (or not) with the O/D which should be checked out.
expavr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 07:59 AM   #4
Frank Miller