Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-19-2013, 01:12 PM   #1
Brian29

Default shocks

I'm fairly new to the model a world and am learning alot. Just joined this site today. Learned alot here so far. I have a 29 Huckster with no shocks. I have been reading alot about this topic and am confused a bit. I drive the car and I'm not to keen on the modern shock look. Bill Stipes look great but are they around? Any ideas? Also, what link should I use? Dog bone or original? I go to shows, but don't really show for points. The truck rides tight in the rear, so do I have to put shocks all around? I don't know how much good they would do in the back.
Brian29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:18 PM   #2
RHD

Default Re: shocks

Original shocks are round in appearance and use a tubular link. Front arms have a slight bend to them where as back arms are straight. Bill Stipes shocks, although never having used any, I hear are excellent. You will notice a distinct improvement in the riding and cornering of your car with a full set of shocks fitted.
RHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
Jazzjr

Hi Brian and Welcome to the Forum. Post a Photo of Your Huckster so us Huckster Owners can see it. Read this thread, if you allready haven't about most of Huckster Owners here on the Barn.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showth...light=huckster
Here's Mine of which I built from a set of Plans
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_1931 (640x480).jpg (59.9 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg 100_1932 (640x480).jpg (54.1 KB, 43 views)

Last edited by Jazzjr; 01-19-2013 at 02:37 PM.
Jazzjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:02 PM   #4
Patrick L.