Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-15-2014, 10:21 PM   #1
FordCustom

Default Has anybody here bought this starter?

Looks great and the price is okay to me. Just wondering if anyone has dealt with this company, and or bought this starter? I was trying to get mine started. The motor spun a time or two without engaging the flywheel, and a couple of times it moved the fan a half inch or so.

http://www.earlyfordstore.com/produc...oducts_id/5837
FordCustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 11:17 PM   #2
expavr

Default Re: Has anybody here bought this starter?

I've bought NOS and new parts from these folks several times. They are decent folks to deal with. I have no knowledge about the quality of the 12V starter, but the Early Ford Store stands behind the parts they sell. I had the lock cylinder come out of a door handle they sold me and they exchanged it - no questions asked.
expavr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:10 AM   #3
scooder

Mr custom, it sounds (if battery is good and all connections and solenoid good) that your starter may just need a going through. Clean up not forgetting the areas that bolt to the sump for ground, clean the armature, clean the end plate and fit new brushes. An easy job, and worth doing if it saves having to buy a new starter.
Martin.
scooder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 04:44 AM   #4
Ed Pitts

Here is a post from Ronnie with a comment from me. This works and is a lot cheaper than 185 bucks. Ed