Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2020, 10:13 PM   #1
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,717
Default 8cm cam grind

I have an 8cm camshaft that does not look too bad but when I chucked it in the lathe and measured the lift I found values between 0.330 and 0.320. One was at 0.335. These numbers were repeatable. My question is can this cam be the ground to something acceptable close to stock? I know the base circle changes but I think this will not be much of an issue.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 10:17 PM   #2
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Frank:

I believe Tilden Technologies does have a "hot" stock grind. It may be the EAB cam profile or something like that.

Check out their webpage or give them a call.

https://www.tildentechnologies.com/

Good luck.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-29-2020, 10:29 PM   #3
Bored&Stroked
Senior Member
 
Bored&Stroked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 2,470
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Also, 'Pete' Samuelson (here is on here as 'Pete') can grind all sorts of great profiles - I imagine he has something that would work for you. I'd drop him a PM or eMail and see what he says . . .
Bored&Stroked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 08:40 PM   #4
Desoto291Hemi
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Carthage , Tennessee
Posts: 80
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Pete has my cam right now,,,,,he has a good reputation.

Tommy
Desoto291Hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 09:28 PM   #5
KiWinUS
Senior Member
 
KiWinUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Charlotte NC KiWi-L100 available here
Posts: 1,890
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

I can put a stock Mercury grind on you cam core. I am in New Zealand for a few weeks so would have to be when I return.
Cheers
Tony
KiWinUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 05:44 AM   #6
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,717
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Thanks for all the replies. Weighing options. I guess the most important thing is that even though a cam looks ok you really need to measure it.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 06:04 AM   #7
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,728
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Miller View Post
Thanks for all the replies. Weighing options. I guess the most important thing is that even though a cam looks ok you really need to measure it.
Suspect that the minute differences seen on this cam were present since new and were there for thousands of miles.
Also suspect that grinding it in an attempt to make it perfect will not produce any noticeable difference in performance.
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 07:16 AM   #8
jetmek
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: albany
Posts: 317
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51 MERC-CT View Post
Suspect that the minute differences seen on this cam were present since new and were there for thousands of miles.
Also suspect that grinding it in an attempt to make it perfect will not produce any noticeable difference in performance.
I agree with this
__________________
engine and component overhauls my specialty!
Website- www.godevilgarage.com
jetmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 08:56 AM   #9
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiWinUS View Post
I can put a stock Mercury grind on you cam core. I am in New Zealand for a few weeks so would have to be when I return.
Cheers
Tony
I forgot that Tony was offering a "stock" grind as well.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 09:30 AM   #10
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,277
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

I'm using a stock EAB cam in the 280, and am real pleased with it;s performance. Torque is amazing
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 09:42 AM   #11
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Pete or Tony:

I have an EAB cam that has a damaged lobe. I'll try to get pict, but it has a chip in one of the lobes.

Can something like this be successfully repair?
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 10:06 AM   #12
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,804
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

I have a Mercury engine in my '51 Ford. I had an Isky MAX-1 to install in it, but after checking the specs on the "Tilden" page and some discussion here, I left the stock cam and saved the Isky for a later build. In retrospect, I think I did the right thing.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 11:01 AM   #13
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,030
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

The EAB cam was the last one FoMoCo made for the flathead V8 engines. It was designed to replace the 8BA cam to give the cars more torque for those that still had 239 CID. The 8CM cam was desiged for the Mercury 255 to give it a bit more torque. The Mercury cars were heavier than Ford beginning in 1949 but by 1952, the cars were a lot more similar in weight so the 239 needed a boost. The EAB cam was the replacement cam for all of them and Ford had them available for a long time after flathead production stopped. I still find NOS ones now and then.
rotorwrench is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 11:12 AM   #14
sidevalve8ba
Senior Member
 
sidevalve8ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Posts: 670
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

I wonder what the specs. are on an EAB cam?
sidevalve8ba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 01:47 PM   #15
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

They are very similar to the 8CM specs. .330 lift. 205 deg. duration at .050 lift.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 03:25 PM   #16
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,804
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know if there are "1CM" ('51 Mercury) or "EAC" ('52-'53 Mercury) separate grinds?
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 04:07 PM   #17
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

I do have a 1CM cam. Haven't plotted it though.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 04:12 PM   #18
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,804
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatjack9 View Post
I do have a 1CM cam. Haven't plotted it though.
If you ever happen to do that, let me know will you? That's actually what I have in my car now. I had "assumed" that it was the same as an "8CM" (or maybe even a little better).
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 04:16 PM   #19
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 3,618
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Ayers View Post
Pete or Tony:

I have an EAB cam that has a damaged lobe. I'll try to get pict, but it has a chip in one of the lobes.

Can something like this be successfully repair?
It can be fixed,BUT, at $80 bucks a pound for the welding rod it is not practical any more. When the core bank runs dry we will go back to fixing them.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 04:23 PM   #20
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: 8cm cam grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
It can be fixed,BUT, at $80 bucks a pound for the welding rod it is not practical any more. When the core bank runs dry we will go back to fixing them.
Ah, makes sense.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.