Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-20-2018, 09:04 AM   #1
TJMack

Default Leaking Zenith Carburetor

I’m new to Model A’s. The one I have now is the first one I’ve ever owned. But I’m not new to carburetors. I’ve worked on them since the late 50’s when I took apart my family’s first power mower, an 18” Roto Rugg.

Over the many years I’ve also worked on carbs from numerous cars, trucks, a few tractors, outboard motors, chain saws, etc, a Chris Craft inboard, even my airplane. But I have to admit this “simple” Zenith on my Model A has caused me more agony than any other I can remember.

I’ll also admit that I never bothered to learn all the theory of operation and detailed workings of a carburetor. I only needed the basic understanding of what did what, and what to do when it didn’t. This usually amounted to cleaning, or at most changing, the float valve (we always called it the needle-and-seat) and making sure the float actually floated. Along with a good cleaning and new gaskets, and I was usually back in business.

Not so with this Zenith. As it turns out, it should have been, but I spent hours chasing my tail on the damn thing.

My first thought was to clean the float valve and make sure the float wasn’t taking on gas. The float valve is one that doesn’t come apart, so cleaning it was a blind operation. Shaking the float I couldn’t hear any sloshing, and actually trying it in both water and gas verified that it, in fact, did float.

Upon reassembly the leak persisted. It took me quite a while to even figure out where the gas was coming out. To make a long story as short as possible, after more attempts at cleaning the valve, I finally figured out that it was coming out the main jet and the cap jet into the throat of the carb.