Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-04-2011, 07:47 PM   #1
Dennis Jarrell

Default Open Drive Conversion Question

If I chose to convert to an open driveshaft trans in my 35 Ford and use some type of strut rod support like in the Drake book, am I still going to have issues such as bending of the rear wishbone, chatter on launch, etc?

Thanks,

Dennis
Dennis Jarrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:56 PM   #2
19Fordy

Default Re: Open Drive Conversion Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Jarrell View Post
If I chose to convert to an open driveshaft trans in my 35 Ford and use some type of strut rod support like in the Drake book, am I still going to have issues such as bending of the rear wishbone, chatter on launch, etc?

Thanks,

Dennis
I am not an expert on this but these guys can help you.
http://www.hotrodworks.com/
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Dennis Jarrell

It has been awhile since I asked this question but does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Dennis
Old 08-07-2012, 05:03 PM   #4
Kahuna

If you use the 35/36 radius rods, you will have no problems. They are at least .120" wall thickness. Now, if you are using a very high HP engine, all bets are off. High being above 300 HP.
If above that number, then the support rod that Jim mentioned from HRW is advisable.
Kahuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:48 PM   #5
rotorwrench

A person has to conclude that the nice big tube is going to be removed. The buggy spring rear axle arced in suspension movement up & down nicely and rolled well laterally too plus it had that tube to push against in motivating the car forward with the clamshells to hold it in reverse motion. This made for a farely decent supension.