Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2020, 07:54 PM   #1
DBSHELTON
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 249
Default A Condenser on a B distributor

Did I see where someone modified an A condenser to use on a B distributor? I can't seem to locate it now. I think they drilled another hole in the bracket to mount and made up a pigtail wire to hook it up.
DBSHELTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 09:36 AM   #2
Bob-A
Senior Member
 
Bob-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central FL, USA
Posts: 1,024
Smile Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

That's what I did on my "B" distributor. I slip the "A" condenser through the "B" distributor condenser mounting hole. Eyeball engineer where the hole should be drilled on the "A" condenser mounting tab. Once I drill and mount the "A" condenser I also bend the consenser tab over to conform to the "B" distributor. And yes on the pigtail.


Bob-A
Bob-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-27-2020, 12:48 PM   #3
DBSHELTON
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 249
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

Thanks. I was thinking I didn't dream this up. I guess you have been running this a while?
DBSHELTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:51 PM   #4
Bob-A
Senior Member
 
Bob-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central FL, USA
Posts: 1,024
Smile Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBSHELTON View Post
I guess you have been running this a while?

Well, not really.... It's been very rainy here in central Florida for a while.
Plus, I've got a couple of Harleys to keep running, an acre of grass to mow, there is a pandemic, etc., etc.


The ..'Barner who posted the original message on running the "A" condenser with the "B" distributor, I can't remember his name, is a very knowledgeable guy. So I see no reason why it should not work. Heck! I start the car up periodically and it runs fine......when I get the timing right I am a constant fidget'r who will not leave well enough a lone and usually cause more bad then good.


Bob-A
Bob-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 04:16 PM   #5
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,265
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob-A View Post
I am a constant fidget'r who will not leave well enough a lone and usually cause more bad then good.

Bob-A
I find the best reasons being in care of a Model A is to FIDGET with it and the rationale to buy MORE TOOLS.
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:28 PM   #6
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,542
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
You may be thinking of my post. The one thing I failed to mention is that I believe there is a short wire used for something else that will serve to connect the condenser to the distributor, Be sure to get a quality condenser like the one from Brattons.

Charlie Stephens
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8204.jpg (52.0 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg w0iQY7D2TlKHvQNg0E6F5A_thumb_6a86.jpg (83.0 KB, 37 views)
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 05:02 AM   #7
DBSHELTON
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 249
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

I like this idea. If I modify a couple of condensers I can use them on either distributor.
DBSHELTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 08:19 AM   #8
Dave Slater
Senior Member
 
Dave Slater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Country Victoria Australia
Posts: 113
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

If you contact Gotham Auto Parts in New York they sell a high quality B condenser. Mine has worked for years. Dave
Dave Slater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 09:56 AM   #9
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,046
Default Re: A Condenser on a B distributor

The condenser can be connected to the switch side of the coil , (red wire) . A modern condenser is easy to set up and connect because it already has a pig tail . In such cases , no condenser will be used in the distributor . The condenser should last longer when connected in this manner because it will run cooler , it will also be much easier to remove and replace . In such cases , a modern condenser is much easier to locate . I have used this setup for many years on my september 29 .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.