Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2020, 09:44 PM   #1
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 756
Default 1936 gas guage

My dash gas gage is not reading at all... have power at the gage and power at the wire to tank sender. There is a 1/4 tank of gas.
It had been working and then noticed it was not.
Is there a way to test the dash gage out of the car ? This is an original 36 gage.
If the dash gage test bad, where do I send it for repair ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 10:08 PM   #2
VeryTangled
Senior Member
 
VeryTangled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: (Not far enough...) Outside of DC
Posts: 2,801
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

This pic from a 12/2012 thread shows us using a battery and a sender to go through the gauge in the cardboard box to make the needle move.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fuel Gauge Test.jpg (80.9 KB, 117 views)
__________________
-Jeff
VeryTangled is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-10-2020, 12:14 AM   #3
deuce lover
Senior Member
 
deuce lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern France
Posts: 3,376
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Take the gauge out.Remove the speedo will make it easier.I use a 9V smoke detector batt and wires with alligator clips.Call John Wolf & Co in OH about repair if necessary.There is a member that has a couple of those NOS $165 ea.

Last edited by deuce lover; 06-10-2020 at 05:56 AM.
deuce lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 09:08 AM   #4
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Thank you both for the info....
DEUCE LOVER...I tested the gage as you suggested and the gage worked. So I thank you for that. I will now look at the sender itself...
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 09:12 AM   #5
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,076
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
Thank you both for the info....
DEUCE LOVER...I tested the gage as you suggested and the gage worked. So I thank you for that. I will now look at the sender itself...
Several threads (some recent and some older) on the fuel tank sensor. You can take them apart and clean the points/contacts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thumbnail.jpg (42.7 KB, 21 views)
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 11:06 AM   #6
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Thanks JSeery I will look into that...

Last edited by zoegrant; 06-10-2020 at 11:11 AM.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 04:34 PM   #7
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 756
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Loose ground wire...problem solved
I did learn a lot with help from you guys...thanks
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 05:08 PM   #8
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,076
Default Re: 1936 gas guage

Thanks for the feed back.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.