Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2017, 06:00 PM   #1
jerdan
Member
 
jerdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 53
Default Intake manifold

I am looking to change my 1953 ford v/8 to a dual carb manifold. All the manifolds I have looked at have 10 place for bolts. My manifold only has 7 bolts on either side. I don't understand.
jerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 06:48 PM   #2
joe plumber
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 819
Default Re: Intake manifold

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerdan View Post
I am looking to change my 1953 ford v/8 to a dual carb manifold. All the manifolds I have looked at have 10 place for bolts. My manifold only has 7 bolts on either side. I don't understand.
Can you post a picture of your engine ?
joe plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-30-2017, 07:10 PM   #3
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,789
Default Re: Intake manifold

The earlier engines used more bolts. The aftermarket manifolds are usually made to fit either engine. Cut some bolts off and stick them in the holes.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 07:54 PM   #4
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,198
Default Re: Intake manifold

Yes, my 53 8BA has fewer intake bolts also.+
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 08:07 PM   #5
jerdan
Member
 
jerdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 53
Default Re: Intake manifold

Here are pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_8149.jpg (77.6 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg 100_8150.jpg (83.0 KB, 52 views)
jerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 08:55 PM   #6
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,099
Default Re: Intake manifold

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Yep, the extra holes are there to fit earlier blocks. As stated install some fake bolts or just leave them open.
JSeery is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.