Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2016, 04:32 PM   #1
farmerdick
Senior Member
 
farmerdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Readfield, Maine
Posts: 340
Default 30`s v8 wire wheels

Will the later 30`s v8 wire spoke wheels fit the 1930 A drums?
Thank you.
farmerdick
farmerdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 04:32 PM   #2
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,662
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Yes
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-29-2016, 04:34 PM   #3
ModelAMike1930
Senior Member
 
ModelAMike1930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 349
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

The 1930 pickup I bought had the later wheels on it. Don't think any adapters were used.
ModelAMike1930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 04:45 PM   #4
ursus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

I met an early V-8 guy at a swap meet recently who complained that so many of the Model-A guys were installing the V-8 wires that he was having trouble finding any for his restoration. If so, I haven't seen any corresponding increase in the availability of good Model-A wheels.
ursus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 04:46 PM   #5
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,573
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Any wire wheel through 1935 will fit the Model A drums (excepting AR, and there I am not sure). Where you get in trouble and need adapters is trying to run wire wheels ('28-'35) on the later hydraulic drums. Another time you need adapters is running '40-'48 (and probably later) solid rims on stock Model A drums.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 05:04 PM   #6
farmerdick
Senior Member
 
farmerdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Readfield, Maine
Posts: 340
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Thank you guys for the info. Do you think there would be any alignment issues if I used a smaller and wider tire?
farmerdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 05:44 PM   #7
Tiny
Senior Member
 
Tiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Redding Cal
Posts: 1,377
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerdick View Post
Thank you guys for the info. Do you think there would be any alignment issues if I used a smaller and wider tire?
I'm not sure what you mean. Like big and littles? Hot rod style?
__________________
Blackwall Panthers
Nor Cal chapter
Tiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 05:56 PM   #8
farmerdick
Senior Member
 
farmerdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Readfield, Maine
Posts: 340
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

If I go to a 16" rim and put on a wider radial tire, would there be alignment problems.
farmerdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 06:00 PM   #9
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,831
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

NO Why would there be if it was right before the wheel change??
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 06:04 PM   #10
farmerdick
Senior Member
 
farmerdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Readfield, Maine
Posts: 340
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Great. Just wasn`t sure if there would be with the radical change in geometry. Thanks much.
farmerdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 06:05 PM   #11
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,388
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerdick View Post
If I go to a 16" rim and put on a wider radial tire, would there be alignment problems.
Just make sure the wider tyre doesn't rub the drag link or anything else when you turn the steering to full lock. Mine didn't so you will probably be right but it's worth the 30 seconds it takes to check.
__________________
Yesterday is History.
Tomorrow is a mystery.
Enjoy Today.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 06:56 PM   #12
jthomas6
Senior Member
 
jthomas6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: E Tn.
Posts: 162
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

When going from 19" to 16", it will throw the speedometer off by ???mph - probably the odometer too.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving isn't for you!
You don't need a parachute to skydive, you only need a parachute to skydive twice.
jthomas6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 06:59 PM   #13
29spcoupe
Senior Member
 
29spcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 614
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

The radial tires will require a different camber than the bias ply tire.
29spcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 07:34 PM   #14
sphanna
Senior Member
 
sphanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Polk City, Iowa
Posts: 520
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthomas6 View Post
When going from 19" to 16", it will throw the speedometer off by ???mph - probably the odometer too.
Yes, it will throw off your speedometer and your odometer. This is how to know how much. Measure from center of hub to the floor of a mounted wheel and tire properly inflated. Say for example you measure 14.4 inches with your 19 in. Wheels. Now if you mount 16 in. wheels and measure as before and you might get 13.25 inches ( I do not know what that measure will be). My 19 inchers are 14.4. Now divide your 16 in. Measure by the 19 in. Measure. 13.25/14.4 = .92. So your speed will be 92% of the speedometer reading.
__________________
Steve Hanna, Polk City, IA
sphanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:14 PM   #15
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,573
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Since questions about wheels and adapters come up frequently I thought I would post a couple of pictures on the subject. The wire wheels from 28 (I am not sure about the AR wheels) through 35 are designed to mount on a surface that has 2 levels. The first photo shows the ring on the rear wheel of a Model A that provides this second level. Beginning in late 31 with the cast drums and continuing through 35 this second level was provided by raised nubs as shown in the second picture. All wire wheels (including aftermarket Kelsey wheels) can be run without adapters on the brake drums intended for mechanical brakes. The wheels for 40 through 48 were designed to run on flat drums as shown in the third picture. There is an adapter shown in the fourth photo that provides this second level when running wire wheels on hydraulic brake drums. There is a spacer available to run the later disc wheels on the mechanical brake drums. In both cases it is necessary to check that the studs are long enough. The spacers to run wire wheels on the later hydraulic brake drums are available from MT Car Products as part # 5000, Speedway as part # 91065470, and Sacramento Vintage Ford Parts as part # 05199-8 as well as many other sources. Since all wheels had the same 5 on 5 bolt pattern the wheels can be bolted on and appear at first glance to fit. Unfortunately, not running adapters/spacers when they are required may result in cracked rims.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6868.jpg (64.0 KB, 261 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6858.jpg (58.4 KB, 250 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7110.jpg (41.0 KB, 238 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7109.jpg (39.9 KB, 243 views)
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 08:11 AM   #16
emf
Senior Member
 
emf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hudson, NY
Posts: 390
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

A few thread ago, I spoke about having my front end aligned on a machine that could correct the camber by bending the axle. I have 16 inch wheels and the new Coker 16 inch radials. When I got to the shop, the tech checked the camber and it was 1* positive. His opinion was that we should not change it and that the tire would run fine with 1*. Mind you, his shop has been doing front end alignments for over 40 years. The toe-in was adjusted and off we went. The bigger problem was wheel balance. A couple of the wheels had some wobble that presented problems, but there were work arounds. All in all, very satisfied with raidals...

Frank
emf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 06:40 PM   #17
farmerdick
Senior Member
 
farmerdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Readfield, Maine
Posts: 340
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

This is for future changes I want to make to the car and appreciate the information. Thank you.
farmerdick
farmerdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 08:22 PM   #18
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,318
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Early Ford Wire Wheel Tech - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Attached Images
File Type: jpg my cars 012.jpg (99.8 KB, 81 views)
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 08:46 AM   #19
Afordman31
Senior Member
 
Afordman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 529
Default Re: 30`s v8 wire wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthomas6 View Post
When going from 19" to 16", it will throw the speedometer off by ???mph - probably the odometer too.
I have this app on my smart phone that I can check the MPH. I have checked my speedster with 16" wheels and found the speedometer to be pretty close, closer than I expected. The app is dead on as I have tried it against my modern vehicles. This app is for the IPhone. You can get them for the Android also. I forgot to mention, that it is FREE. Thanks

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/spee...307529605?mt=8
Afordman31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.