The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Front and Rear Brakes, Drums (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=334591)

Mike1291 01-08-2024 09:31 PM

Front and Rear Brakes, Drums

5 Attachment(s)
This is the first time I've had the brake drum assemblies off the car. Being a somewhat newbie mechanic, I wanted to get your opinion on how the pads and rear drums look. I'm getting two front drum assemblies already but was thinking I could get away with having the rears (see attached) cleaned up.

Honestly the shoes look good, with no cracks in the material, and even wear. Only thing is that the brakes (including parking brake) should be adjusted.

lrf 01-09-2024 12:56 AM

Re: Front and Rear Brakes, Drums

I don't know the technical name, but does the front have "floaters" on the lower shoes? LRF

Brentwood Bob 01-09-2024 02:21 AM

Lubrication.

old31 01-09-2024 04:32 AM

All the shoes look good.

Sand down the shoes lightly, sand down the drums, grease the bearings, put white grease on the pivot points, adjust them and take it out on a few panic stops. And go go go.

dave in australia 01-09-2024 06:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lrf (Post 2282399)
I don't know the technical name, but does the front have "floaters" on the lower shoes? LRF

I was thinking the same, some of the standard brake parts are not there on the front brakes.

Mike1291 01-09-2024 06:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I took a closer look at the pictures again, and I don't think that I have floaters (equalizers); the image attached has floaters in it. It also appears that the front shoe material is unevenly worn (less material at the bottom). Maybe it's a bad picture but I'd like to get a micrometer and measure it.

jimsa 01-09-2024 07:04 AM