The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Mercury Glass Replacement (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=258020)

RalphG 01-22-2019 01:41 AM

Mercury Glass Replacement

Drivers door glass in both my 52 and 53 Mercs is cracked so bad I don't dare try to open the window. Crank mechanism is seized up solid anyway. I'm considering the possibility of replacing the glass myself. Assuming new glass is available locally. I've never tried this job before and have no idea how its done. Watched a few videos on youtube applying to fifties GM trucks but have not found one specific to 52-54 Ford/Mercury cars.
https://youtu.be/s9WV-1eFgbc

51 MERC-CT 01-22-2019 06:37 AM

Re: Mercury Glass Replacement

Your first hurdle is to remove the garnish molding, window crank and door latch handle.
Then remove the upholstered door panel along with the arm rest by prying away from door to disengage the spring clips on the outer edges.
This will expose the inner workings and is just the first hurdle.
(more to follow)

One method to remove inner handle horseshoe clip.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iLweWp72tU

flatford8 01-22-2019 08:00 AM

I would remove the upholstered panel (as 51MERC advised)and see if I could get the window to go up and down first. If you can’t roll it up and down, there’s no sense in replacing the glass......Mark

RalphG 01-22-2019 09:50 AM

I did work on one of the rear doors a couple of years ago as it was seized up solid too but the glass was still good. Handles were a challenge but workable. Door panel was really not salvageable by the time it came off. (rodent damage). According to the video I watched on the GM truck, the vent window and frame have to come off first before the side glass. My vent window glass is long gone and I carved out a new one from plexi glass just to get by. Wonder if I might do the same on the side glass?