The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Oil change (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=107581)

Msaby 05-30-2013 06:23 AM

Oil change

I am planning on draining the oil on my car this weekend.
* Do I just remove the drain plug and empty the pan?
* Is there a screen or filter of some sort?
* What oil is recommended?
* How may quarts of oil are needed?

Sorry for the basic questions, I am still learning the vehicle.

Thanks
Mike

al's28/33 05-30-2013 07:02 AM

Re: Oil change

5 quarts non-detergent just remove the plug and drain it. lefty loosy righty tighty

1931 flamingo 05-30-2013 07:03 AM

Yes, install 4 1/2 quarts of YOUR choice oil. Many different views on what type/brand to use. I use 30W. Do a search at top of page. Also suggest you get a copy of Les Andrew's book Vol 1, available from any of the vendor's and possibly amazon. Lots of good info. Al;so get some free catalogs from the vendors, there's a wealth of info in them also.
Paul in CT

ctlikon0712 05-30-2013 07:19 AM

2 Attachment(s)
A new engine takes 5 quarts but a half quart is retained in various places in the motor so it will take 4 1/2 on a refill. Also the change frequency is 500 miles because there is no filter and a few other reasons. It is just as important to lube the cars lube points properly and on a set schedule. Here is that info...

I got the lube chart from an owners manual that can be found here.
http://www.motormayhem.net/mode-a-fo...owners-manual/

V4F 05-30-2013 08:33 AM

personally i would not use non-detergent oil . it causes sludge . new oils are just fine . i run 20/50 valvoline VR1

sethkestenbaum 05-30-2013 09:13 AM

Mike,

Good questions... especially if you have never changed the oil in your car. I received the following advice when I did my first oil change about 1.5 years ago.