The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model T (1909-1927) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Dip Stick (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=289265)

chkolar 10-26-2020 05:58 PM

Dip Stick

I am new to Model T's, 81 years old and it is tough to get down to check oil level. Is it worth getting the dip stick kit to check oil from under the hood? Have only had Model A;s for the last 60 years.

39portlander 10-26-2020 06:17 PM

Re: Dip Stick

Welcome to the T, @ 57 I get the local or the grand kids to do that. @ 81 get the great grand kids.:D That will keep'm occupied and learning.

It might be easier to pop out the floor boards, those petcocks will be right below the passenger side.

J Franklin 10-26-2020 09:06 PM

Get the kit and save your knees & Back.

dropacent 10-27-2020 12:35 AM

1 Attachment(s)
We make the Rajo style accessory oil level indicator. With this easy install, you will never have to get out and get under again. ( the Rajo trademark is owned by Kenneth Chaffin and Chaffin’s garage , used with their permission. )

29spcoupe 10-27-2020 07:26 AM

I have a dipstick on both of my Fords. Worth every penny.

40 Deluxe 10-27-2020 09:41 AM

On the other hand, getting down and under every time you drive the car will help keep your body limber. "Use it or lose it"!

Robert/Texas 10-27-2020 10:57 AM

I'm 86 and use a tool similar to the one in the Snyder's catalog for $9.50. I put a pad down for my knees and don't need to crawl under the car.

redmodelt 10-27-2020 11:38 AM

Just working the pedals will give you a work out! :) I have known people younger that have installed the dip stick kit. The other option is the site glass. I personally don't know of anyone that has broke one and have used them for many years. Still have to get down but not under to look.

J Franklin 10-27-2020 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dropacent (Post 1945630)