The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   8ba questions (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=283402)

Ken Arms 06-30-2020 01:42 PM

8ba questions

Hi folks, I recently acquired a Merc 8ba, I want to install it in my 34 after rebuild. I would prefer to eliminate the oil fill and vent tube from the front of the intake. It looks like an early intake will fit but will it work? will the block still vent Ok and will I loose power by not using the merc intake? Im new to 8ba's. Ken

V8COOPMAN 06-30-2020 02:30 PM

Re: 8ba questions

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Arms (Post 1904542)
Hi folks, I recently acquired a Merc 8ba, I want to install it in my 34 after rebuild. I would prefer to eliminate the oil fill and vent tube from the front of the intake. It looks like an early intake will fit but will it work? will the block still vent Ok and will I loose power by not using the merc intake? Im new to 8ba's. Ken

The intake will fit, and it will work WHEN re-vented properly, usually with some sort of a PCV system. We're working on building such a mod as we speak. It can be done with poor to terrible results if you don't understand how the 8BA originally breathed, and if you don't understand how a PCV valve is actually designed to function. It can actually be accomplished ALMOST inconspicuously if you put enough thought and planning into it. DD

19Fordy 06-30-2020 02:47 PM

4 Attachment(s)
On my 8BA the fuel pump stand was replaced with a homemade oil fill tube and the original oil fill tube is the breather using a small K and N filter. The OEM crankcase vent tube running down the front of the timing cover was left in place but I think than could be removed and a crank case breather (like you see on valve covers) bolted to the oil pan would suffice. I know it's important to alleviate crankcase pressure build up.

V8COOPMAN 06-30-2020 03:00 PM